Setting up Directv at Cabin in Manitoba

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Disarmingyou

Original poster
Jul 25, 2014
I am a Seattle resident wanting to set up a receiver at my cabin in Manitoba Canada, I have a receiver and dish for up here but I am wondering how I can register it while im up here and if they will allow me to use it. I'm obviously clueless about how this stuff works so any help is much appreciated. I already have a system at my house in Seattle I am just wondering how I get this other receiver registered and working up north.

Thanks for any help!

:welcome to Satelliteguys Disarmingyou!

Are you talking sd or hd? If hd, do you know if it's a swm setup? Where in Manitoba?

KA/KU kaku SATELLITE DISH Antenna SWM5 SWiM 5 SL5s - thats the product description of the satellite I bought. It's about 1.5 hours north west of the the North Dakota border. I am wanting to do HD if possible. My extra receiver is an HR44.

It sounds like you would be a little to far north to receive hd signals. Sd is a possibility. What town in Manitoba?

If you tell them you are in Canada they can't give you service, it is illegal even for you to receive U.S. encrypted signals. (Very different laws in Canada than here) You should be able set it up and use it based on whatever signals you can get. Do you already have the equipment across the border?

the closest town is wasagaming and the closest big town is Brandon. I have equipment up there already my extra receiver and my dish

Looking at the satmaps, you might be able to get the hd channels! You will need to use a swm setup since a Genie needs it to work correctly.

I can tell you that direct works in Brandon MB -both HD &SD
My old home town !
However it may be only SD @ clear lake-as its on edge of HD signal strength
Don
Ps remember that you can't call their 800 # from Canada-Skypes may work