Setup confusion! please help!

mmganger

Original poster
Jun 16, 2013
United States
Hello, I am new to this hopper/joey system and had a few questions before I order it. I basically have 6 tv's that I would like to set up. However i only want 3 tv's to access dvr and to save money on unnecessary cost of the Joey's. I understand the setup is from the satellite to the node to the receivers, but is the sole purpose of the joey just to access the dvr? Can I connect a tv directly to a tuner without a joey for the tv's that don't require a dvr and possibly split that connection to other tv's? Thank you for the help. Much appreciated for your input. My current set up is the 722k one tuner going to the bedroom and the 2nd tuner split across the rest of the rooms.

Hello, I am new to this hopper/joey system and had a few questions before I order it. I basically have 6 tv's that I would like to set up. However i only want 3 tv's to access dvr and to save money on unnecessary cost of the Joey's. I understand the setup is from the satellite to the node to the receivers, but is the sole purpose of the joey just to access the dvr? Can I connect a tv directly to a tuner without a joey for the tv's that don't require a dvr and possibly split that connection to other tv's? Thank you for the help. Much appreciated for your input. My current set up is the 722k one tuner going to the bedroom and the 2nd tuner split across the rest of the rooms.

For Hopper Joey system you need 2 Hoppers and 4 Joeys to give independent channel selection at 6 TV's. If you want 2 tuners with 5 TV's and the same SD channel split to them keep what you have now.

But how many TVs need independent viewing? HDMI splitters and home distro are options.