SG2100 Motor Issue

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

hunkyspunky

Original poster
Nov 6, 2005
Hello all,
I have been running an Sg2100 for 6 years with no issues until recently,
My motor right now has no problem going from west to east, however you have to play with it to get it to go from east-west, especially after you haven't moved it.
I have already tried setting it to zero resetting motor. and resetting receiver and removing limiter sensor, but i get the same results,
any ideas or has anyone had this issue?
thanks

They don't make 2100's like that any more.

Some of the things discussed, include the lubricant caking up.
Or maybe freezing up
The obvious solution would be to clean it out and use a top of the line grease.
And I mean lithium or molybdenum disulfide axle grease!

Another common problem is sticking relays.
You *can* change them if you are good at soldering.

There could be other common failure modes.
Best to search the forum for more info on the above.
And do read about repairs to other motors for more ideas. ;)

Could also be the backlash adjustment and the gear might be binding. Here is a bulletin for how to adjust: http://dmsiusa.com/docs/Backlash Adjustment.pdf
  • What size (or brand and model) dish?
  • Does the problem happen at the top of the arc or lower towards the horizon?
If it is only occurring when traveling in one direction, the electronics may be at fault as Anole suggests.

I would actually bet on the relay/s if we were gambling for it, I think it is a safe bet.