Should I wait for the HR20?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

brandnew

Original poster
Aug 30, 2006
I just joined the forum today as I am just getting started with my D* (new to the lingo ;) , but I still don't know what E* is :confused: ) HD research. I have been a D* customer for a couple years and a TiVo user for about 18 months. I am shopping for my first HD TV right now and wondering if I should wait until the HR20 is released in Chicago before I order an HD receiver...

I called D* today before finding this forum to ask them what kind of receiver I will get if I order an HD unit and they woman on the phone couldn't tell me what they were sending. It was going to be $399 and I balked at paying that much for "whatever is available at the time" so I didn't order anything.

Should I wait for the HR20 to order a new receiver? Can I only get them from D*?

Thanks in advance.

You can buy them on ebay now from several sellers. A few other online directv retailers have them for preorder nationwide and may be shipping very soon, if not this week.

E*=Echostar or Dish Network.

Value Electronics has the new HR20 for $299 no haggling. You can call retention group and haggle something out. You can also look at the HR10-250 which is the HD Tivo unit. If you get local HD over the air (OTA) then its a viable option.

Welcome to the forum!!

Call retention at DirecTV and get yourself one for free. May take a few calls, but keep trying. 800-824-9081.

Even if you have to wait, free is better than $300-$400.

Tonedeaf said:
Call retention at DirecTV and get yourself one for free. May take a few calls, but keep trying. 800-824-9081.

Even if you have to wait, free is better than $300-$400.

I just got one for $174 and I'm happy. Since i'm a new subscriber, I don't have much to haggle with. ;) Looks like the wait for the HR20 is over though....