Solid Signal DIRECTV and DISH Satellite Signal Meter (SATLOOKLITE)

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by tpinck, Apr 16, 2018 at 12:56 PM.

  1. tpinck

    tpinck Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Posts:
    108
    Likes Received:
    12
    Has anyone used this meter to align the Dish Western and Eastern arcs Hybrid dishes. I am thinking about purchasing one to use as we move for east to west 2 or 3 times a year.
     
  2. Brussam

    Brussam SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Posts:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    185
    Since there is no mention of Hybrid LNBF in the literature, I would doubt if it would work. When I was researching, only the Super Buddy 29 and later Applied Instruments had the Hybrid capability.
     
  3. tpinck

    tpinck Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Posts:
    108
    Likes Received:
    12
    Thanks I have a ticket open at Solid Signal asking that very question will post the results when I get it. I do know that is will not work with the 4k LNBS not sure if the hybrid are considered 4k or not most of what I have been able to find out is that 4k are mostly Direct tv stuff the other one is call Reverse Band LNB what ever that is.
     
  4. the mack

    the mack SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Posts:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    111
    Location:
    HOCKEYTOWN
    I use standard lnbs to align dish with cheap meter then swap with swm or hybrid after alignment is complete. $300-700 is a lot to spend on a meter that is only used a few times a year.
     
    truedowneast and charlesrshell like this.
  5. tpinck

    tpinck Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Posts:
    108
    Likes Received:
    12
    It looks like I will be purchasing a new meter the Applied Instruments XR-3 with XR-TS2-01 DBS Satellite Meter Module for $708 from TEquipment.net with free next day shipping and no tax. We move locations ever 3 to 5 days, staying a max of 2 weeks at a time. So the meter will get a lot of use. I hate spending that amount of money but with the increase in complexity of systems it will save me a lot of time in the future. Super Buddy is discontinued and this is its replacement. cost from the factory would be $785 plus shipping and tax.

    Thanks for all the inputs, this has been a long time coming but after 12 years on the road and I hope for another 10 it is money well spent.
     
    HIFI and charlesrshell like this.
  6. Brussam

    Brussam SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Posts:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    185
    I brought my Super Buddy used for $300 on eBay and then spent another $150 to have the battery replaced and a new faceplace and other fixes installed. Almost like new.
     
  7. tpinck

    tpinck Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Posts:
    108
    Likes Received:
    12
    The used ones I have found on line at various sites look pretty sketchy. I just did not want to spend the time to order it, get it, send it out for repair and then finally get it back working to be able to use it. My wife agreed that I should just go for it, I think she is tired of watching me take an hour or 2 to get the system up and running. I am going to order it today and have it sent to or 3rd stop for here on or around 4/23. We leave here tomorrow then a 5 day stop where we can not get shipments and then a 1 night stop. We will be at NAS Lemoore for 4 nights and they will except shipments and mail prior to us arriving.
     
  8. Brussam

    Brussam SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Posts:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    185
    You will like the meter.
     
  9. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1,511
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    Do you guys that have Sat Buddy's update your meters periodically? They push new updates pretty often
     
  10. tpinck

    tpinck Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Posts:
    108
    Likes Received:
    12
    looking forward to the learning curve
     
  11. Brussam

    Brussam SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Posts:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    185
  12. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    10,623
    Likes Received:
    1,876
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    I have a Direct AIM meter which works great.

    Wish Dish would come up with their own branded meter specific for their service.
     
  13. dishdude

    dishdude SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    9,941
    Likes Received:
    13,288
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I'm still using this! :stooges

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Brussam

    Brussam SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Posts:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    185
    With a Hybrid LNBF?
     
  15. Dish Sub 2015

    Dish Sub 2015 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Posts:
    174
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    The Matrix
    The SuperBuddy meter does work with Hybrid LNBs, you just need to download and update the software on the meter.
    Keep in mind that if your meter is very old one and dont have mini USB port not all Hybrid LNBs will work with it. (there is a 2-3 variations out there)
     

***

Separate names with a comma.

More...