Sony KV-34HS420 Picture Quality

bleeg10

Original poster
Sep 9, 2004
Hi this is my first time using this forum. I just purchased a Sony KV-34HS420 widescreen with all the monster cables galore. I am currently using the DVR 522 receiver, and have plugged it into the tv using a coaxel cable. My problem is that when I try to watch TV, the images look pixelated, like they have been stretched. I tried changing the "mode" from full, to zoom, to full zoom, but it doesn't look crisp. I even tried using the 4:3 mode but its just not look good enough. Can you tell me what I'm doing wrong?

Trying to watch standard definition programming on a widescreen HDTV. That's the case with HDTVs. They upconvert the signal from 480i to 1080i which is their native resolution.

bleeg10 said:
Hi this is my first time using this forum. I just purchased a Sony KV-34HS420 widescreen with all the monster cables galore. I am currently using the DVR 522 receiver, and have plugged it into the tv using a coaxel cable. My problem is that when I try to watch TV, the images look pixelated, like they have been stretched. I tried changing the "mode" from full, to zoom, to full zoom, but it doesn't look crisp. I even tried using the 4:3 mode but its just not look good enough. Can you tell me what I'm doing wrong?

bleeg10: Welcome!

The first thing to change is to connect the 522 to your tv via S-video instead of coax. Next get or rent a calibration DVD (Avia, Digital Video Essentials) and adjust the set properly. These will help but probably not eliminate some of your image problems.

NightRyder

bleeg10 said: