Soon new to voom

owvernon

Original poster
Dec 12, 2004
Well I'm scheduled to have Voom installed on Jan 4th, 2005 I have many worries considering the amout of bad installation issues. I (in the past installed D* twice at 2 locations with nothing more than a compass and the D* STB. I turned the volume all the way up and listened for the best tone. The very first install I got a 92% sig with an 18" dish on a piece of plywood with 2 cinder blocks in SE Washington St. After 1 yr I moved about 25 miles and setup again on a leaning power pole 40' from the house and got a 91% sig with only a STB and a good ear using only the original STB again. NOW I'm wanting HDTV and I'm a Amateur radio operator so I know a bit about antenna aiming and have a tower and a rotor so if the installer can't get it right - I WILL - hopefully they will get close though. It saves me a bit of time. I do not have a clear view of the HDTV towers (due to dirt [hills] but I'm only 15 miles away from 4 HDTV transmitters and 75 mi from one more [with a clear view](acording to TitanTV but Antennaweb is wrong - again) my wife works for a TV station lol)). I have a clear view to the East - Southeast (not exactly sure where the sat is though for Voom). I'm getting more aprehensive as time goes but my installation date is Jan 4th, 2005 and to top it off I plan to move by May or June 2005. But if they only deliver the equip I can do the rest myself I guess. It will only take time and the cooperation of my wife (she can be my ear) now lol. Maybe I should wait until I move but not sure it will happen before the $1 install deal ends.. hmmmm any ideas??