Spaceway 2

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

OneBigJedi

SatelliteGuys Guru
Original poster
Dec 12, 2005
I been told that after some delays, Spaceway 2 was launched on Nov 16. Spaceway 2 is not yet in geostationary orbit as I understand it. Does anyone know when DTV thinks that the bird will be in place at 99 degrees and ready for service?

Merry Christmas!

If this is the new satellite that my coworkers told me was put up by Direc TV recently, does anyone have any idea when it might start to be used and what new HD channels it will bring. Forgive me for asking - I am a newbie.

raoul5788 said:
The site says nothing about S2 being in geostationary orbit, and it lists the
position as 102.97 degrees, not 99.2.
Chip

Correct. Once in geostationary orbit it will undergoe about a month of testing before being turned over to D*.

Last edited:
wolfman said:
Correct. Once in geostationary orbit it will undergoe about a month of testing before being turned over to D*.

I just checked the site and now it is apparently in geostationary orbit.

Chip

Last edited:
hdtoby said:
If this is the new satellite that my coworkers told me was put up by Direc TV recently, does anyone have any idea when it might start to be used and what new HD channels it will bring. Forgive me for asking - I am a newbie.