1. Another Team Summit in the books!

    Thanks to the generosity of a number of our members SatelliteGuys will be covering DISH Networks Team Summit Event from Phoenix, Arizona!

    CLICK HERE for our Team Summit 2019 Coverage!

    CLICK HERE to see our 2019 DISH Team Summit Recap Video! Thanks for being part of SatelliteGuys!
    CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
    Dismiss Notice

Suggestions for motorhome setup.

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by hdflsts2002, May 13, 2019.

  1. NYDutch

    NYDutch SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Posts:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    1,475
    Location:
    Where our wheels go
    Tony wants a second H3 to replace the 722K in his RV in addition to the H3 in his house. With a DPH42 he can continue to use his existing portable 1000.4 and EA/WA LNB's, and only need one coax run to support the RV H3 and a Solo Hub for a couple of Joeys.
     
  2. hdflsts2002

    hdflsts2002 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Posts:
    135
    Likes Received:
    5

    NYDutch, that's exactly what I want. 1 H3 currently in the house the other if I can get it added to my account would be to replace the 722k in the motorhome. I thought that H3 required the hybrid LNB but the only gens did not so long as a switch was used. So I can use the current dish and DPP LNBs on an H3 by simply adding the 42 switch. Mounting it outside would not be an issue at all. I could put it inside the 5 gal bucket I use to hold dish stable. Have it about half filled with sand, I can lay the switch in there and run the cables to it through the side of the bucket with some grommets to help keep the water out.
     
  3. TechWriter

    TechWriter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Posts:
    368
    Likes Received:
    96
    From what I read, OP considered using his H3 & Joeys, three Wallys, a Hopper Duo, and two H3s.

    From my experience with a Hopper 3 in an RV, I would not suggest hanging a DPH42 from a tripod (nor mounting it flat on an RV roof for a Travler install). After working with a DPH42 for over a year in my RV, the DPH42 and/or the Hopper 3 are a quirky combo at best.

    Dutch, do you have similar/different experience with a DPH42?
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  4. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    7,810
    Likes Received:
    7,645
    Location:
    USA
    We've got multiple Hopper 3's connected to 2 DPH42 switches here and we haven't had any problems with them at all.
     
    NYDutch and charlesrshell like this.
  5. TechWriter

    TechWriter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Posts:
    368
    Likes Received:
    96
    Do you use a Winegard Travler?
     
  6. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    7,810
    Likes Received:
    7,645
    Location:
    USA
    No and neither does the OP who's asking for advice.
     
    NYDutch likes this.
  7. TechWriter

    TechWriter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Posts:
    368
    Likes Received:
    96
    Let me put it another way . . . how often do you change locations and need to reacquire sats with your H3 & DPH42?
     
  8. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    7,810
    Likes Received:
    7,645
    Location:
    USA
    I change receivers often and reacquiring the signal is not a problem. That has nothing to do however with your statement that 'After working with a DPH42 for over a year in my RV, the DPH42 and/or the Hopper 3 are a quirky combo at best.' which from my experience couldn't be further from the truth.
     
    Bobby, NYDutch and charlesrshell like this.
  9. NYDutch

    NYDutch SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Posts:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    1,475
    Location:
    Where our wheels go
    I know of at least three DPH42 portable dish setups with the switch installed at the dish, including two that I assisted on. A few others have mentioned planning the same thing, but I don't know if they've done it yet. None of them have related any problems with the switch. I have heard of Trav'ler DPH42 installations being a bit finicky, although I don't know the particulars.

    The Wally's, etc., were options the OP considered, but the single additional H3 is what he prefers.
     
    charlesrshell and JSheridan like this.
  10. NYDutch

    NYDutch SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Posts:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    1,475
    Location:
    Where our wheels go
    The OP will be dialing in the dish with his SuperBuddy. The DPH42 and H3 would be irrelevant at that point...
     
    JSheridan likes this.
  11. TechWriter

    TechWriter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Posts:
    368
    Likes Received:
    96
    That's your experience, not mine.

    Dutch, direct experience is different from indirect.

    OP, from my experience, I don't suggest hanging a DPH42 off your 1000.4, but it is the easiest solution.
     
  12. Bobby

    Bobby Publican
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    55,425
    Likes Received:
    8,791
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    I’ve had a DPH42 hanging off of my 1000.2 for a very long time without issue at all. Mind you this is a permanent install not an RV install but what difference does it make either way. I don’t agree with your advice in the least.
     
    JSheridan likes this.
  13. reubenray

    reubenray SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Posts:
    97
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Elberta, AL
    I went the Wally route instead of taking my Hopper 3 out of the house for several reasons. One is the hassle of removing the Hopper 3 from the cabinet in the house and the ease of using the Wally at campgrounds (with a Winegard Trav'ler and an automatic portable in the near future). Plus I leave the Hopper 3 at home mainly for recording everything while we are traveling and I cannot get the local channels (via OTA antenna). Yes I am limited to what I can record, but it works for us.
     
  14. NYDutch

    NYDutch SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Posts:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    1,475
    Location:
    Where our wheels go
    I guess actually working on at the portable dish DPH42 installations doesn't count as "direct experience" in your mind. And I'm in regular contact with the users that have not reported any issues. How many portable dish DPH42 installations have you done? I don't know what problems you expect, but in my experience they work just as well as an interior installation just as my at the dish node installations have worked for years.
     
    Bobby, JSheridan and charlesrshell like this.
  15. hdflsts2002

    hdflsts2002 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Posts:
    135
    Likes Received:
    5
    Certainly sounds to me that if I can pickup another H3 or even H2 and have it added to my account that, that with my current 1000.4 (which I just love for ease of setup) and the DPH42 switch would be the easiest setup for me. I can relatively easily run a new cable through the firewall up to the media bay where I can install the hopper and then feed out to the two joeys using the existing coach cabling.

    We use the motorhome 2 or 3 weekends a month from around April or May until Oct or Nov depending on weather and 1 or 2 weeks during that same time period. I can't see the Hopper being any different than the 722 as to acquiring sats. So long as I use the same LNB as the previous trip all is golden once I've setup and sighted and if I have to switch LNBs then it's setup sight and run a switch check. If there is a different procedure that I'd need to follow with a hopper setup or other concerns please those who are already doing this please let me know. For me sighting and peaking has become a non issue and more than a few times at campgrounds I have to help others peak their portable dishes, which I'm more than happy to do.

    Also does anyone see any issue in putting the 42 switch inside my ballast bucket? 5 gallon bucket that I hang from bottom of tripod filled about half full with sand to help keep it in place. My though is put some grommets in the side of the bucket above the same level. Run the cables through the grommets to the switch inside the bucket to help keep as much weather off of it as possible?
     
  16. NYDutch

    NYDutch SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Posts:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    1,475
    Location:
    Where our wheels go
    Unless there's been a change, you can't have an H2 and an H3 on the same account.
     
  17. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    7,810
    Likes Received:
    7,645
    Location:
    USA
    Yea but remember this is the guy with a 722K and a 222K on an account with a Hopper 3. :cool
     
    NYDutch likes this.
  18. NYDutch

    NYDutch SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Posts:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    1,475
    Location:
    Where our wheels go
    The DPH42 housing is weatherproofed the same as the Node and Hub housings. Putting it in your ballast bucket certainly wont hurt anything, but it really isn't necessary. I have a Solo Node that's been exposed to the weather at the dish about 10 months of the year for about 10 years, and a dish mounted Duo Node that's been continuously exposed for about 8 years, both with no problems. Just make sure you use drip loops on your cables so water doesn't run into the connectors.
     
  19. hdflsts2002

    hdflsts2002 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Posts:
    135
    Likes Received:
    5
    NYDutch, thanks good to know that I really don't have to worry about exposure to the elements! Now all I need to do is find the best price on an H3 and a couple or Joeys a 42 switch and a solo hub. Then the real fun begins getting DISH to add that to my account. Would be great if I can pull that off and still manage to keep the 722k on there for our family parties in the yard here at home. Those are always great events, 2 20x20 tents multiple grills running draft system and 5 TVs 4 run off HDMI splitter for the ball games and one SD for the kids to watch whatever keeps them moderately quiet.
     
    NYDutch likes this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...