The problem with DVR's

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

tdogg72

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Sep 22, 2004
I am fairly new to DVR technology. I was set up with Dish TV and a DVR 522 a few weeks ago. It is just me and my wife in my household. We soon found that it was a big problem when recording to the DVR. I had TV1 going to the master bed room TV and TV2 going to the family room TV. The TV in the family room is used the most, so I set TV1 to be the default for recording shows. The problem is, my wife often wants to use the master bed room TV, and cannot use it because it is recording something. Or maybe both of us want to watch Live TV seperately.... we cant because it is recording something. This proved to be too much of a pain, so we decided we needed a 4 room/tuner setup so we could record to those extra tuners and not have to worry about not being able to watch live tv(WITH pause/replay capability) from either of the main TV's. Well we soon learned that that would not work because Dish wont let us use (2) DVR 522's. I had a 322 added last week, but that hasnt really eliminated the problem because you cant record to the 322 tuners. And of course if you watch from the 322 tuners, you cant pause live tv.

Anyways, I just was wandering what people thought about this problem. Or knew of any ways to get around it (that isnt expensive).
Why cant Dish make a 4 tuner DVR? or NOT limit new DHA customers to only 1 DVR 522.

If you want to know how I have things configured right now. Check out the diagrams in my sig. (I suggest the simple diagram, because it is easier to understand)