Thinking about Dish Network (Move from DirecTV? Channel comparison between Top 250 and DishLatino MA

memo90061

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Aug 26, 2007
Los Angeles, CA
I've been wanting to get Dish Network for a long time, but as a college student I've been limiting my TV budget to 55 dollars max. I live in Los Angeles, and currently have Sky Mexico and I love the channels. I just don't like the receiver. It's the receiver DirecTV used to have, the HR23-700, and I've been wanting to try the Hopper since it came out. Our entire household has DirecTV except my room.

I went to Dish.com to try to compare the channels from America's Top 250 and Dish Latino MAX, but the channel name and check mark are not aligned. It also says VH1 is not included, but the logo for the channel is present when not looking at the comparison list. Is there a clear list which compares the channels from both packages?

Here is the list that confused me on Dish
etnu.png

I noticed that my mom was paying 107 a month for DirecTV for 3 SD receivers, 1 Genie, and an HD DVR receiver. She called, and changed the package to decrease the bill to 91 dollars. I told her about switching to Dish, and she told me to find out to see how much it would be. I went to Dish.com to chat with a representative, and this is what she told me:

Rachel (ID: 22F): The regular monthly rate for the Top 250 package on 6 TVs with Hopper system is $126.99 before taxes.
Rachel (ID: 22F): Should you qualify for the best plan, you can either take the free iPad 2 offer we have or take a $30 monthly savings off your bill for 12 months.
You: I would not want the iPad 2 offer. I'd like the $30 dollars off.
Rachel (ID: 22F): Perfect. Let's go ahead and get you qualified.
You: So would there be 30 dollars off from 126.99 for the first year?
Rachel (ID: 22F): Yes, that is right.
You: So it would be 96.99 for the first year?
Rachel (ID: 22F): Yes, that is right.