Time shift on a DSR922 ?

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

Greg Mueller

Munich Oktoberfest
Original poster
Mar 3, 2006
Datil, NM
I have a DSR922 into a HD201.
I'm wondering if there is a way to hook into my AV computer to do "time shift" of programs.

That is, record programs for viewing later.
I could hook up the old VCR but the results are pretty dismal.
I have a subscription through NPS for the W5 package.

The 922 can be modified with the R5000HD available from Nextcom Wireless to capture the transport streams and pass these to a PC over USB. This will do the time shifting you are looking for. The quality is impeccable because the bits are exactly what is sent over the downlink. The mod isn't cheap, but if you're VERY experienced with electronics you can save some bucks and do it yourself. Most should have Nextcom perform the mod.

something else to look at:

While Pendragon's solution above, using the Nextcom is unarguably the best quality, there are alternatives.

Since you mentioned a VCR, let me ask if you've seen DVD recorders with built-in hard drives?
They typically record to the HD, then optionally offload to DVD when desired.
You'd be limited to SD, but so would a VCR.... this'd just be more reliable.

And, it's a damned shame the Dish Network OTA PVR only records off-the-air signals.
If it had video input, it'd be an outstanding box.

The R5000HD is probably a bit more long term plan with the financial state of affairs around here, but certainly something I will think hard about. It seems pretty "clean"

I do have a DVR with hdrive that I have never used.