Tivo vs Tablo

Discussion in 'Over the Air TV By RabbitEars.Info' started by Jackonearth, May 18, 2018.

  1. Jackonearth

    Jackonearth Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    Anyone here with experience with both?
     
  2. fayrich

    fayrich Old Fart
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    995
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    CLEVELAND, OHIO AREA
    No experience with Tivo, but just wanted to let you know that I have been using the Tablo for about a year now, and it has been totally flawless. Thought that I would throw in my "2 cents" since no one else has responded yet.
     
  3. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,159
    Likes Received:
    2,088
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Does the Tablo support surround sound?

    There's a long "Official Tablo" thread on AVSForum that offers a whole lot of insights as well as conflicting stories on the DD5.1 issue. Results run the gamut. Channel changing speed (15-30 seconds) may be a concern but if you're channel surfing with a DVR you may have bigger issues. ;) There are also comparisons between various TiVos and the Tablo.

    I think they want way too much money for the Tablo given that it doesn't drive the TV directly (a Tablo app enabled device is required in the line somewhere).

    Amazon has a considerable array of Q&A's on both brands but you need to make sure you discount the older questions as today's Tablo firmware is a lot more capable than it used to be.

    Since you need a fairly capable streamer to facilitate the connection to the TV, the inclusion of web streaming features in the Tablo seems pretty stupid.
     
    primestar31 likes this.
  4. Mgsports

    Mgsports SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Posts:
    326
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Overland park
    Tivo isn't available with CCI and on the Guide on it's Website like CCI Lenexa,KS Lineup is not up to date.
     
  5. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,159
    Likes Received:
    2,088
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Copy Control Information (CCI) is perhaps more an issue with the station that inserts it than the device that implements it.
     
  6. Mgsports

    Mgsports SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Posts:
    326
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Overland park
    CCI is a Cable provider.
     
  7. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,159
    Likes Received:
    2,088
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Hence the importance of not using Three-Letter Acronyms without first clearly defining them. It is especially important in this case because CCI means two distinctly different things in the context of TiVo and one of them could actually be important to someone looking into OTA DVRs. We are in an OTA forum after all.:no
     
  8. radio

    radio "On the Air" in MI
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Posts:
    3,633
    Likes Received:
    847
    Location:
    West Central Michigan
    I can only contribute to one side of the question, but will in case it helps anyone.

    Tablo has come a long way. I've had mine a few years...started with a 2-tuner, now with the four. It is very stable, but like anything these days requires a good stable internet connection for distribution. There are regular updates to the software, and, it's not "geofenced" to the best of my knowledge. (A friend of mine travels the Ukraine and uses my living room TV recordings and live TV when over there.) Don't know if Tivo is limited in what countries it can be viewed via the internet. I use mainly the ROKU interface, but have occasionally used the PC version during bad weather as I can have all my local TV stations' weather radar available in my radio studio without relying on the individual stations' internet feeds which may slow down during high usage.

    I've found the Tablo team to be very responsive to questions, and have been able to upgrade my hard drive and transfer content easily with the help of the Tablo community forums online.

    Cost of the guide is 1/3 that of Tivo, and, unlike some guides, if the name of the program changes, it won't miss recording the program. I found this out when CBS Sunday Morning's official name changed with Charles Osgood's retirement. There was talk of some other OTA recording devices missing the "new" shows, but my Tablo never missed a beat. Tuner is sensitive, does well in my area...

    Remember, Tablo has no direct output to a TV or monitor, it relies on apps installed on your device(s) to work, but that doesn't seem to be an issue. We're all used to that these days.

    Happy to address any specific questions about Tablo...as needed.

    Oh, and no contracts are needed on the guide, unlike Tivo, which even on a used box will get you for a year's minimum the last time I had one in my posession and considered activating. Tivo offered no "month to month" service. That may have changed, depending on their business models. Not sure.
     
    MikeD-C05 likes this.
  9. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    9,429
    Likes Received:
    1,871
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    Tivo Roamio OTA includes lifetime service in the purchase price which varies between $200 and $400 depending on sales. I find it hard to go without skipmode once one starts using it. Tivo has made this a must have feature.
     
  10. radio

    radio "On the Air" in MI
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Posts:
    3,633
    Likes Received:
    847
    Location:
    West Central Michigan
    Guess I can't miss what I've not had, and for me, $5/mo takes a long time to add up to the cost of the lifetime upgrade on Tivo. There is a similar "lifetime" available for Tablo, but...I've been happy with the month to month for a long time. It also helps support the company, which I'm happy to do.

    Does Tivo allow you to have your service apply to ALL units? I don't know...

    With Tablo, once you have the account, you're good on all Tablo devices you may add or own. In their words, "Your Tablo subscription is tied to YOU, not a specific device. You can associate multiple Tablo DVRs or upgrade to a new device and keep your existing subscription." I can see where this would be great for folks with a summer or winter getaway home in addition to their main place of living, or for multiple tablo units in a house.

    It's safe to say both brands are a good value....it's a matter of choice and features most important to the user.
     
    MikeD-C05 likes this.
  11. Jackonearth

    Jackonearth Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    Where have you found the OTA Tivo for $200? Or for that matter, for anything less than $400?
     
  12. Jackonearth

    Jackonearth Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    Roku and other streaming device remotes don't have keypads, how do you change channels?
     
  13. radio

    radio "On the Air" in MI
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Posts:
    3,633
    Likes Received:
    847
    Location:
    West Central Michigan
    a very easy to use program grid...up, down, left, right...and it really isn't a loss not to have the direct channel input.
     
  14. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    9,429
    Likes Received:
    1,871
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    TiVo has sales various times throughout the year. I have 5 Roamios. 2 of them OTA’s. First one I got for $199 during a TiVo white sale around Christmas, 2nd one I got for $249 during a cyber Monday sale. They have regularly been on sale at $299.
     
  15. Jackonearth

    Jackonearth Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    How fast are channel changes?
     
  16. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    9,429
    Likes Received:
    1,871
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
  17. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    46,744
    Likes Received:
    11,708
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Our company president has a full size Echo on his desk. Working- I tested it when he stepped out.
     
  18. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,080
    Likes Received:
    4,260
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Better hurry, it won't go lower. Roamio OTA with LIFETIME service for $290.18. If you can't see the link below, turn off your adblocker and refresh.
     
  19. msmith198025

    msmith198025 Member of the Year
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Posts:
    27,532
    Likes Received:
    7,619
    Location:
    mississippi
    Link is showing at $399 now.
     
  20. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,080
    Likes Received:
    4,260
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    They sell out quickly when they go below $300...
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...