Toshiba at CES

gadgtfreek

SatelliteGuys Master
Original poster
May 29, 2006
Lower Alabama
Reiterated dismay with the warner deal, talked shortly about HDDVD not being dead and that it was pro consumer , then on to tv's.

Now I would have imagined player talk was planned for the HDDVD event which has been canceled. Seems like they woulda hit on some player/format news.

Not real smart if you're trying to keep everybody warm and fuzzy. They also did not take questions.

Saying that youre pro consumer and cheaper does not say very much.

Reiterated dismay with the warner deal, talked shortly about HDDVD not being dead and that it was pro consumer , then on to tv's.

[\QUOTE]

Thanks for the quick post. What else could Toshiba say while they circle the wagons and work with their HD DVD group partners to consider next steps? They were really put in an awkward position by Friday's Warner announcement. Though I'm glad BD will emerge as the winner, as a PR pro, I kind of feel sorry for Toshiba (I buy their TVs).

They had 36 hours, personally Id have worked to have something positive for HDDVD at CES. Not discussing the players and canceling the event I disagree with.

IF they dont want it to die. I'm happy they did not, the web will just spread more doom, but if it was me I woulda worked up something more positive.

They had 36 hours, personally Id have worked to have something positive for HDDVD at CES. Not discussing the players and canceling the event I disagree with.

IF they dont want it to die. I'm happy they did not, the web will just spread more doom, but if it was me I woulda worked up something more positive.

They did touch on using the Cell processor in there new up scalers for near perfect HD quality up converts though.

I found that a bit interesting though.

10:37 - Talking about the power of Cell chip to do super SD2HD upconversion. Claims it makes SD look like HD.

Live from Toshiba's CES press conference - Engadget

I missed that, is pretty interesting.