Transponder - Symbol Rate Info

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Look Up

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Oct 5, 2008
Colorado
I'm new to FTA but have had success in getting all the signals on Galaxy 25 (97W). I'm keeping the dish pointed at 97W, and have added another lnb and now get the Pentagon Channel on AMC 1 (103W). I'm using an AT9 DTV dish with Techsat Tracker II+ 0.2 dB lnb's. Before settling on AMC 1, I was able to get strong signals on 105 and also on 101.

I've added another lnb to hopefully get AMC 3 (87W), but with no luck at all. I've also tried to pick up signals on 91W and 93W with no luck. I noticed that the transponder frequencies and symbol rates listed in my Coolsat 5000 scan list don't match those shown on The List for AMC 3 (they do match for other satellites). I also note that Galaxy 28 and 17 are not in my menu at all. I bought the Coolsat used, so I don't know what someone else may have done to it. Do I need to do a Database reset or a software update? If so, how? (I have the serial cable).

Thanks (by the way, it's a great feeling to get that first signal after setting everything up!)

Congrats! That first Lock does feel good.

I also note that Galaxy 28 and 17 are not in my menu at all
Receiver's Sat Lists are not updated very often and Sats are always being replaced with newer ones with different names.
Example: Galaxy 17 replaced Galaxy 11 @ 91 west earlier this year

I'm using an AT9 DTV dish with Techsat Tracker II+ 0.2 dB lnb's
As big as it is, that dish may be a little small for the weaker FTA Sats. 97west is pretty strong, compared to others.

Thanks for the info. After further searching through old satelliteguys posts, I was able to find the blank satellite entries in my Coolsat 5000 menu and the procedure for adding/updating - the Coolsat receiver is great, but the manual is cryptic at best.