Traxis DBS3500 - AC3 Audio

Status
Please reply by conversation.

dvstahl

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Apr 10, 2007
I'm completely new to FTA and I'm looking at getting a Traxis DBS3500, due to the great price (about $95 delivered), and would be adding it to a C band big dish. I've seen on these forums that this receiver does not have AC3 audio pass thru. I believe that's Dolby audio, but what problem would there be here? Does this mean that many programs would have no audio? From the review it seems many are very happy with this receiver.

The Traxis has a bug in the software that don't let it pass AC-3 audio. What this means is there will be stations that you won't be able to get audio on. If you want the most out of FTA pop the extra $$$ and get a Pansat 2700 that passes AC-3 flawlessly. You will be glad in the long run you did this.

Thanks again, tvropro,
I did a quick check & see the 2700(a) can be had for about $128 delivered. It looks like it has a built in positioner. I'm assuming I wouldn't have any problems slaving it off my 4dtv reciever, and the 4dtv being the one positioning the dish?

You might want to check the price on the Pansat 3500SD. It does everything the 2700 does, plus component video out and a memory card for downloading your channel list.

You can open and edit the channel list file with Channel Master and change the names etc of the channels, then upload it back to the receiver with the memory card.

It works very well, with no need to hook the computer directly to the receiver.

Both the 2700 and 3500SD have a polarotor control which controls the polarity and skew on a Co-rotor for C-Band.

Fred

I really don't know if I need the "frills" of a more top of the line receiver. I also plan to leave my 4dtv receiver hooked up and don't really need a FTA with built in positioner. I still wonder if this type of receiver/positioner might present problems for me, being used as a slave?