Trick DVR into signal to watch recorded programs during outage

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

fred franken

Original poster
Dec 25, 2015
coeur d'alene
Intro: I have no TV, Internet or Phone days after power has been restored in North Idaho, and still no sign of TWC (Time Warner Cable) and first 'appointment' available is next week (although the problem is not at my house).

Tech support said their technicians are off for the holiday- must be nice; I am a retired telephone technician and we worked many a holiday because thats what service people do.

So- I am not trying to rip off the cable company, just watch the shows recorded on my DVR that I am paying for.
However, when the DVR doesn't sense a signal on the line it won't even allow viewing recorded shows.

Is there some voltage/signal I can introduce to the DVR to allow me watching my shows? I have very sketchy cellular service here.

Thank you.

Intro: I have no TV, Internet or Phone days after power has been restored in North Idaho, and still no sign of TWC (Time Warner Cable) and first 'appointment' available is next week (although the problem is not at my house).

Tech support said their technicians are off for the holiday- must be nice; I am a retired telephone technician and we worked many a holiday because thats what service people do.

So- I am not trying to rip off the cable company, just watch the shows recorded on my DVR that I am paying for.
However, when the DVR doesn't sense a signal on the line it won't even allow viewing recorded shows.