Trouble Call Question

Status
Please reply by conversation.

larsh74

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
May 14, 2006
I have to run a trouble call tomorrow and have a couple of questions. The customer says that the dish got bumped and needs to be reaimed. According to the work order the dish is receiving signals from 101, 110 and 119. What type of dish is this customer most likely using? I have never aimed any D* multisat dishes and would appreciate any tips that can be offered. Thanks in advance.

Are you a certified tech?

That could have a:

PhaseII

PhaseIII

or an AT9 that was pre-installed for HD LIL when available but not yet in use in the user's DMA. Thus only the three satellites listed would be active for them as opposed to all 5.

I was certified about three years ago but I am not sure if that has expired. I have been installing satellites on a part time basis for ten years. The retailers I work for both sale Dish Network only so I have not really had a chance to experiment with D*. With Dish Net I usually aim the dish from the 119 sat and the other signals tend to fall into place. Are D* dishes similar to this?

Last edited:
Thanks for the help. This dish is installed at a major airport in this area and it would be nice to at least be able to pretend I know what I am talking about when I get out there. :)

If you have done a dish 1000 you will have no problem.

Now you said this is a commercial establishment correct. Some of them use single bigger dishes that go into a head-end system.

larsh74 said:
I was certified about three years ago but I am not sure if that has expired. I have been installing satellites on a part time basis for ten years. The retailers I work for both sale Dish Network only so I have not really had a chance to experiment with D*. With Dish Net I usually aim the dish from the 119 sat and the other signals tend to fall into place. Are D* dishes similar to this?