Trouble with a complicated install

Status
Please reply by conversation.

bruckster

Original poster
Dec 27, 2008
I am brand new to satellie TV and I am having trouble installing my DirecTV Slimline5 dish with HR-20 receiver.

I live in an apartment complex with stringent rules about dish placement. I don't have a completely clear view of the southern sky, but from what I can tell with my compass, I think the dish should be able to see from 99 degrees through 119 degrees. The edge of my building might just cut off the 119 satelite, but I seem to be getting signals from it.

I live in 30345 - azim 212, elev 47, tilt 67, and in the setup I chose Slimline-5 as my Dish Type and SWM as my Switch Type (am I right?).

I have probably spent an hour pointed at satellite 101 transceiver 1 dithering the azimuth and elevation settings, but I can never get a very strong signal:
56 71 49 56 51 69 47 69
52 71 47 37 55 72 49 71
52 76 50 45 56 72 53 69
54 79 51 55 56 72 51 74

I also dithered the tilt on satellite 119 and this is the best i can get
72 53 69
53 79 50 59 55 72 51 75

Satelite 110:
71 73 39

What's worse, I don't seem to get any signal from 99(c) or 99(s) (what's the difference, anyway?) or on 103(s) or s03(c).

I don't understand why I am failing to get signals from 99 and 103, because as I mentioned, my building is very close to cutting off 119, but 99 and 103 should actually be very clear

My cable run is probably 15 feet and I have checked all of my coax connections. There is a lamp post that is sort of in the line of sight of the dish but it's not dead center and it's about 25 feet away. I got my dish on craigslist, so I don't know for sure if it is any good. Does it sound like possible bad LNBs?

Could a lamp post block out two satellites? What am I doing wrong? What should I do next?

First of all, you need to determine exactly what type of dish you got, and do you actually have a SWM installed because the SWM switch won't work with a standard 5LNB assembly.