Turne2 not working (Extending cables)

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

rafaelbarriola

Original poster
May 30, 2009
California
Turner2 not working (Extending cables)

Hi guys I'm new to this, but I tried to move my R16-500 box to another room by using just extra cables to extent it there, it worked for turner 1, but for turner 2 nothing seems to work, i tried switching the cables to check if turner 2 would work with turner 1 extension and I didn't work, I checked all cables with a digital multimeter and they all had signal flowing, the only way for me to be able to get turner 2 working is to bring the box back and connect it to the cables that the directv installer ran. If I use the extension cables only turner 1 works.

So my guess is that either my box is not accepting it or has to do with low signal, but before I run and get something for it I would like to know what you guys think

Last edited:
There's something wrong with the extension cables you used. Were they pre-built or did you make them up? In any case check them to see if the center conductor isn't shorted to the braid and that it is long enough to make contact in the receiver. Also, what are you using to connect the extension cable to the DirecTV lines?

BTW, it's tuner not turner. :)

There's something wrong with the extension cables you used. Were they pre-built or did you make them up? In any case check them to see if the center conductor isn't shorted to the braid and that it is long enough to make contact in the receiver. Also, what are you using to connect the extension cable to the DirecTV lines?

BTW, it's tuner not turner. :)