two dual universal lnb and 4 receivers

Status
Please reply by conversation.

kevdish

Original poster
Dec 26, 2013
Netherlands Antilles
kind of a noob here

but how can i install 4 receivers using 2 twin universal lnb ? ( i do need both the high band and the low band on 1 of the satellite's, so one of the universal lnb's can be changed for a standard lnb)
i got confused with all those talks about 22khz switch and ecoda switches
or is it best to switch to quad lnb's for both satellite's and use diseqc switches?

thank you in advance

Welcome to Satguys! :welcome

I'm not that experienced with multi-switches, but I think that you would need to get 2 quattro lnb's and something like a 9x4 multiswitch.

MS9_4PIU-5.gifms_9-4_piu_5.png

Wait for more experienced switch experts to confirm!

Enjoy the site!

Catamount

BTW welcome to the site...glad to have you here!!!

The thing that you need to address first is usage scenarios.

- Idependant Tuning by all receivers
The 9x4 switch and Quattro labs is the most versatile solution. This would allow all receivers to access the low and high frequencies without limitation.

- Shared tuning of LNB switching
If you do not need to access low and high frequencies at the same time on all receivers, you could get away with using 2 of the 2x4 or 3x4 switches and 4 2x1 or 4x1 diseqc switches. The LNB for N.A. satellites will always have tone on and all receivers can access H and V transponders. For the other satellites that need the universal capabilities will be set to low or high by the first receiver that tunes a H or V transponder.

Another option would be to use a 2x3 or 3x4 for the N.A. satellites and a Quattro LNB for the other satellites. Then use 4 2x1 or 4x1 diseqc switches.

Once you know this, you can determine which switches will be needed and the cost associated for the project.