uhh!! How do I get stereo from 4dtv

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

gweedow

Original poster
Jun 7, 2009
pennsylvania
Hi all.
Great forum. Newbie here.

I'm a little embarrassed to ask this question because I've owned my 4dtv receiver for almost when It first came out (920). Well, here gos. First of all I just bought a Onkyo 5.1 home theater system to go with my Samsung 50 inch plasma tv, and samsung blu-ray disk player. Before that I never worried about surround hookup to a tv. Fantastic sound man from Blu-ray player. Even the over the air broascasts I get from just two stations.
Here is the question. How the heck do I get the 4dtv receiver to put out the surround sound?? I hooked up the Audio out (RL) of the 4dtv to my Onkyo's Audio. I whent into the menu of the 4dtv and tryed all ways of the hifi and tv and stereo configuration. The only way the sound comes out of the 5 speakers is all of the sound on the tv comes out of each speaker. In other words, there is no separation of different typs of sound in the movie, of the side front speakers and back speakers. Like I get on my dvds. Like a surround sound effect. I tryed mostly HBO because I felt like it is the most likely to have dolby or some surround in the movie. Do I have to buy that HDD 200 box? My tv is HD integrated which means I won't need a digital converter for at least over the air. Sorry for the long post. What am I doing wrong? Thanks much, Jim