UI upgrade has RUINED Hopper 1 usability

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by FogNoggin, Jun 3, 2017.

  1. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    9,551
    Likes Received:
    2,025
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    Yes, pay Dish to fix a problem Dish created. That makes total sense.
     
    Gobucks and Jim S. like this.
  2. littlecloud319

    littlecloud319 Tech guru

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    524
    Likes Received:
    364
    Location:
    Black Creek WI
    Sometimes that’s the only option. They know that. Why else would they push the update to H1 knowing it would render it useless? They make money this way.


    Sent from my iPhone using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
    navychop likes this.
  3. Scherrman

    Scherrman SatelliteGuys Master Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Posts:
    15,345
    Likes Received:
    9,721
    Location:
    Eastern Iowa
    Kind of sounds like a lot of things that happen in life.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  4. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    9,551
    Likes Received:
    2,025
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    Not in my life. I cause a problem that affects my clients, I fix it on my dime, not theirs. It's why clients come to me and I don't seek them out. Ethics and Morals, something lost in most of today's business world.
     
  5. Scherrman

    Scherrman SatelliteGuys Master Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Posts:
    15,345
    Likes Received:
    9,721
    Location:
    Eastern Iowa
    I agree with doing that as well but you're trying to tell me that something similar to this has never happened to you? No product that incurred an issue from it's own company has ever required you to pay to fix it before?
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  6. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8,428
    Likes Received:
    9,100
    Location:
    USA
    Microsoft trashed an older PC I had when they force fed Windows10 to it. It just couldn't handle it. :smash
     
    navychop, DWS44 and charlesrshell like this.
  7. Scherrman

    Scherrman SatelliteGuys Master Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Posts:
    15,345
    Likes Received:
    9,721
    Location:
    Eastern Iowa
    Did they replace your PC for free?
     
    DWS44 likes this.
  8. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8,428
    Likes Received:
    9,100
    Location:
    USA
    LOL Yea right.
     
    gasman882001, DWS44 and charlesrshell like this.
  9. Scherrman

    Scherrman SatelliteGuys Master Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Posts:
    15,345
    Likes Received:
    9,721
    Location:
    Eastern Iowa
    Seems the point has been made then. :biggrin

    It's technology and it's forever changing. I have my first iPad yet and it's almost worthless because it can't work with most of the apps anymore. Apple isn't going to replace it for free for me. I know these are not "exactly" the same circumstances as with Dish and the CUI but it's similar. I'm not even saying it's right but it's something that happens. At least it's only $100 for the new receiver and the install and not more.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  10. redman042

    redman042 SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Posts:
    138
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Folsom, California (95630)
    I don't like paying for an upgrade I wasn't planning either. However here's how I look at it:
    • They offered me a free H2 with Sling but I opted for the H3.
    • I'm not going to invest an entire morning sitting at home to do the free upgrade option (to the H2 with Sling) just to have to upgrade again in a few years when it gets too slow (and it sounds like it's having problems for some now).
    • Along with the upgrade, I'm going to spend significant time copying 1.5TB of shows from one Hopper to the other, and rebuilding all the timers. I only want to do that once in the next five years. Hence spending $100 on an H3 vs. the free H2.
    • My time is more valuable than $100.
    • I could leave Dish over this, but that means I'm going to have to go with DirecTV or Xfinity, neither of which is appealing to me.
    • The H3 is going to bring 16 tuners and ability to view recordings offline on my iPad, which will be quite nice. So I will get something for my $100.
    Still, I'd like to see Dish discount my monthly bill for a while to offset the inconvenience of this software mess-up. But I haven't had the energy to pursue that with them.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  11. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    9,551
    Likes Received:
    2,025
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    Not that I can remember, if they did it became a product I no longer used. I like new toys, but I tend to stick with things I've purchased until I have a compelling reason to get a new one.

    To my knowledge I've not had something intentionally bricked and had to pay them for a fix. I've had things no longer updated but that product continued to function and operate normally with the old software and I had to upgrade to a new model if I wanted newer functions. I'm very selective about what I buy. It took me 2 years to decide what new truck to buy after I decided to get a new one.

    I've still got old computers that work perfectly fine on Windows 7 and 2 that actually reverted to Windows 7 after failing to update to Win10.

    There was no reason for Dish to update the low power H1 to CUI. It would have continued to work as originally built, just like the VIP receivers. Customers would have remained happy, but now customers are pissed off with non functioning receivers that are missing recordings and being told to pay for a new receiver and sign contract extensions in addition to losing any recordings they may have had on their dvrs. Now that's some great customer service. :rolleyes:

    The least Dish should be doing is offering free upgrades with no contract extension to a HWS for H1 customers. Anything less is a fail in my book.
     
    Gobucks, nelson61 and The Fat Man like this.
  12. The Fat Man

    The Fat Man Poster of Randomness Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Posts:
    7,069
    Likes Received:
    4,991
    Location:
    Land where we pronounce our "R" as "ah"
    How did they force a Windows 10 update? All updates on Windows and Linux PCs, as well as Mac, need to be confirmed by the user. The situation with Dish and the Hopper 1 is completely different.
     
    ausag and Gobucks like this.
  13. littlecloud319

    littlecloud319 Tech guru

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    524
    Likes Received:
    364
    Location:
    Black Creek WI
    Microsoft forced updates to windows 10 for awhile. You could opt out but you had to look for it every time you turned on your pc. The denied it at first but admitted it after the update was no longer free.


    Sent from my iPhone using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
    JSheridan likes this.
  14. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014! Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    47,770
    Likes Received:
    12,753
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Actually, wasn't there some sort of accessibility requirements handeydown by the feudal gummit? And the VIPs were grandfathered due to age?

    I hate to say this.
     
  15. JrC

    JrC SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Posts:
    187
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    HowlerVille, MI
    After my H2Ks were updated to the CUI, I was offered 2 HWSs with no fee or contact extension or a h3 and 4k Joey for $125 and 2 year contact. I asked if they would wave the fee. The did and the system was installed later that day.

    Sent from my GT-N8013 using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  16. Jim S.

    Jim S. When someone asks you if you're a god, you say yes Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    5,058
    Likes Received:
    499
    Location:
    FN11od
    But with your PC, you can restore it to full functionality by installing any other OS you wish.

    Can you do that with a Hopper that Dish has trashed by forcing admittedly-unfit software on it?
     
    Gobucks likes this.
  17. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8,428
    Likes Received:
    9,100
    Location:
    USA
    I'm not going to bother trying to cob some other operating system onto a Windows computer that our company needs to run Windows software. And no cheap or free hardware upgrade was offered for the PC like Dish is offering.

    IMHO the only reason some people are complaining about the new software is that they like to complain. There might be a few legitimate complaints of individual old Hoppers having problems for one reason or another after a major update and Dish has offered reasonable solutions when asked. Old Hoppers don't last forever.

    We've installed a couple of Hopper 1's for new customers recently coming from cable or DirecTV and all have remarked how much nicer the Hopper 1 is than their previous DVR. Its all relative.
     
  18. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8,428
    Likes Received:
    9,100
    Location:
    USA
    You haven't seen a Windows computer lately have you. :)
     
    navychop likes this.
  19. KAB

    KAB SatelliteGuys Master Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Posts:
    20,186
    Likes Received:
    3,532
    Location:
    Indy
    Windows 10 upgrade was by my "permission", though I wish I had not granted it.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  20. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8,428
    Likes Received:
    9,100
    Location:
    USA
    With Windows 7 I believe it depended how your updates were set to be delivered. If it was on full auto then you got it. This was an office computer so I wasn't watching it closely.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...