Upgrade from H10 for OTA?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by Johnnybeach, Jan 11, 2019.

  1. Johnnybeach

    Johnnybeach Topic Starter Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Long Beach CA
    I have two H10's and I'm have difficulty with the EPG in that they aren't able to pick up the newer digital forms of broadcast. They will have dual listings. One will give the programming but not the program itself while the second will only say "Regular Schedule" and show the program. Is there an alternative to the H10? All I use it for is OTA and EPG and not Directv service. Can I use the H20, H23, or H25? I know anything with DVR won't work. I want a more reliable set until the day comes when all my TV's have EPG.

    Thanks for any advice,

    Johnnybeach
     
  2. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    522
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    IA
    I didn't realize the H10 would even work without Directv service. It will stop working later this year since Directv is shutting down the satellite broadcasts for hardware that old, so you will definitely need to find something else soon. It won't be Directv hardware though, you'll need to get a dedicated OTA tuner like a Tivo, Tablo or similar.
     
  3. Johnnybeach

    Johnnybeach Topic Starter Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Long Beach CA
    I've been using the H10 for years and never with a subscription. I just replaced one that stopped acquiring the TV part while showing the satellite program feed. I want something that will show the programs and I can tune to it automatically like the H10 does. I have to more research on the Tivo and others. I found a receiver online somewhere that only gives the EPG one channel at a time. Does the H20, H23, HR24-200, and H25 do the same as the H10? If there will no further support for older boxes then I'm out of luck but I'll hang on as long as I can. I'm not ready to ditch my TV's that don't have EPG for new TV's.

    Johnnybeach
     
    #3 Johnnybeach, Jan 11, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2019
  4. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    522
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    IA
    No, none of the newer Directv hardware will do what you want without paying for Directv service. That H10 will quit working entirely sometime this summer/fall.
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  5. Johnnybeach

    Johnnybeach Topic Starter Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Long Beach CA
    OK, thanks for the heads up. I'll just have to wrap my mind around it and figure out how get what I want. Tivo and Tablo have subscriptions and I don't want to pay anything.

    Thanks,

    Johnnybeach
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  6. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    59,629
    Likes Received:
    2,241
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    Newer TV's are rather cheap, and they all (most all) come with a digital OTA tuner in them.
     
  7. Johnnybeach

    Johnnybeach Topic Starter Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Long Beach CA
    I just hate to get rid of my 55" LG because it otherwise has a good picture and is somewhat Smart. It gives Info about a program that I can scroll up and down to the next channel. It is also hooked up to a computer that I can access TitanTV to see what's on. It doesn't Autotune. Then, I have a 32" Samsung that has the Guide and I can Autotune but it's in the bedroom. And in the kitchen is another Samsung 32" that will Autotune after going through Info.
    It looks like a matter of changing my habits to fit the situation. It might be time to sell off the Directv boxes beforehand. If I get another TV I will definitely get one with a full guide. I'm glad I made this post to find out things.

    Johnnybeach
     
  8. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    59,629
    Likes Received:
    2,241
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    Sell off the Directv boxes ?
    The only way you can SELL the D* boxes are if they are OWNED units ... check with D* if you don't know for sure ...
    The MAJORITY ... like probably 95% since '06 are Leased and you cannot sell them.
    If you happen to sell it, the buyer will not be able to activate it.
     
  9. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    26,353
    Likes Received:
    9,053
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    An H10 is so old I'm sure it's an owned unit.
     
  10. Johnnybeach

    Johnnybeach Topic Starter Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Long Beach CA
    I've owned about five boxes over the last few years and no one gave them to me. I bought them and I've never activated them. I only used them for OTA and the EPG. I have two that are still usable but at what I paid and after depreciation they're not worth much, maybe $20.00 each, so it is not a huge investment.

    Johnnybeach
     
  11. Johnnybeach

    Johnnybeach Topic Starter Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Long Beach CA
    If I wanted Directv service I would want a new box and not a H10.

    Johnnybeach
     
  12. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    26,353
    Likes Received:
    9,053
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    Absolutely.
     
  13. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    522
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    IA
    Directv will NOT activate an H10 on an account whether owned or not so they have no resale value, unless you don't mind taking advantage of someone. Best to recycle them once you've found a new solution.
     
    Jimbo likes this.
  14. Johnnybeach

    Johnnybeach Topic Starter Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Long Beach CA
    I wonder if there is a market for the H10 unless someone already has a dish and needs a replacement box like I did. I might just play out the situation with Directv and it's support until it finally all ends and then go from there.

    Johnnybeach
     
  15. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    59,629
    Likes Received:
    2,241
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    I'm sure they don't want it back .... but that doesn't mean you can sell it .... and the buyer won't be able to activate it.
    There would be VERY little market for that recvr, seeing its the old technology (mpeg2) ...
    IF you had a D* sub, they would offer you a free upgrade, but seeing you don't have a sub with them, they don't know your using it and won't offer you anything, seeing they don't know your using one.

    I had a H10 and an H20 sitting in the closet until a year or so ago when I pitched them.
     
  16. Johnnybeach

    Johnnybeach Topic Starter Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Long Beach CA
    The main reason I keep buying the H10 is the EPG and AUTOTUNE. I drive it into the ground like a used car.

    Johnnybeach
     
    raoul5788 likes this.
  17. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    522
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    IA
    I've been assuming you have your H10s plugged into a Directv dish, as well as an antenna, and even though you don't have an active Directv subscription it is picking up guide info from Directv. Or am I wrong and you have it plugged in ONLY to the antenna, no dish at all, and it is picking up guide info from PSIP (usually only about 12 hours of guide info) If the latter, those H10s will keep working for what you are doing and won't stop later this year...
     
  18. Johnnybeach

    Johnnybeach Topic Starter Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Long Beach CA
    My H10s are plugged into a Directv dish as well as an antenna and no D* subscription. I think for OTA it is better that a TV EPG and I like the Autotune. I am very comfortable with and I want to keep it as long as I can. I'll unplug the satellite and see what happens but without it how would I get the EPG and my Autotune? I'd just get the OTA.

    Johnnybeach
     
  19. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    522
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    IA
    Like I said, later this year Directv is making big changes that will obsolete a whole bunch of old receivers including the H10 so you should find a replacement ASAP as we don't know the exact timing of when they 'flip the big switch' just that it will be happen by the end of 2019.
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  20. Johnnybeach

    Johnnybeach Topic Starter Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Long Beach CA
    When the time comes I'll just use Titantv to see what's on TV. I'm not going to pay a subscription to anyone and I wonder if the EPG on a TV is all that great anyway. Autotune and EPG isn't absolutely necessarily that I would need to pay more for either a service or a new TV.

    Johnnybeach
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...