USALS Dish Mover for Channel Master 1.2m Dish?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

IMCHEMIST

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Mar 6, 2013
Indiana
Does anyone have a Channel Master 1.2m on a USALS dish mover? If so, which one and how does it do? I tried searching previous posts but came up empty.

I have an old Channel Master Primestar dish (the bigger one?) on an SG6100, and it has the same size pole mount as the 1.2m, so I am tempted to just try the swap; however, I worry the weight of the 1.2m will kill the SG6100. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

I don't have a 1.2m dish but IMHO you are better off with a Stab HH120. They are made in Italy by the company that developed USALS technology. Great build quality and rarely hear of a problem with them compared to the SG6100's. The Stab uses less power during standby and normal operation (startup is the same). Warranty is also 2 years vs 1 year for the SG6100. Just my two cents.:) http://www.stab-italia.com/download...hh120/Instruction Manual [EN-DE-IT-FR-ES].pdf

Agree with the STAB HH120 recommendation. Even with heavier motor, the dish mount should be removed and fabricate a lighter weight hardware solution. There are several project threads here on SatGuys that document mounting these larger dishes on HH motors.

In my opinion, mounting these composite reflectors on regular HH motors exceeds the limits of the hardware and it will fail sooner rather than later. There are solutions designed for 1.2m composite dishes. Check out the Satellite SuperStore listing for the Primesat CH12MK4 :
http://www.satellitesuperstore.com/satellite_diseqc_motors_36_volt_motors.htm

You could easily modify a 6-8' polar mount to mount on this dish. Probably find a free donor dish on Craigslist.

I have a Channel Master 1.2 m on a STAB HH120. The dish weighs about 34 lbs with LNB & the custom brackets I made to mount it on the motor shaft, which is 3 lbs under the motor's rated limit.