USB device to use multiple EHD's on 2 DVR's simultaneously

It certainly appears as if it would share at least one ehd between two dvr's - subject to cable length restrictions.

For 15 bucks if it doesn't you haven't lost much. When you get it please post if it works or not.

I sincerely doubt it. I'm not an engineer, but from what I understand about the architecture and limitations of the DVR, it must be a single spindle (LUN) and the DVR must have exclusive, direct control of that disk.

OTOH, for $15, why not?

[edit]

Uh, no. If you push a button to select a slave (disk), it may be useful for swapping disks for a single DVR, because of what I stated above. If you have to push a button to select the master, it won't work in any automatic way at all.

Think of the DVR as a compujter, as it is. The computer manages the disk directoiy of the disk drive. A second computer trying to mange the same directory will eventually, and pretty quickly, screw up the disk directory.

For two computers to share a disk drive, there needs to be a separate manager of the disk space, ala a Network storage device. So far, DishTV and not allowed network stoarge to be used.

Could this device be used for 2 DVR's and multiple EHD's?

Kensington ShareCentral 5 for USB Device Sharing

ShareCentral™ 5 - K33901US - Kensington

Kensington

On sale right now for $14.99 w/ Free Ship

NEW Kensington ShareCentral 5 for USB Device Sharing - eBay (item 400088908724 end time Dec-03-09 08:00:44 PST)

Its looks like its a 5 port usb hub with a 2 port peripheral switch. You'll have the same problem as using any hub on a vip 622/722 in that the vip 622/722 does not detect or support multiple usb hdd or hub, they say someday it will..

A usb hub will work on a vip 622/722 if only one hdd is powered up at a time. Get a cheap hub and a remote control A.C. power switch.
MINI 4 Port USB 2.0 480Mbps High Speed Cable Hub - eBay (item 250541266825 end time Dec-03-09 05:02:22 PST)