Use vhf/uhf antenna for HD

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

dadams0618

Original poster
Apr 30, 2008
Upon purchasing my new HD TV I found out the hard way that Dish does not carry my local channels in HD. (I am new at this.) I have an outdoor vhf/uhf antenna set up. Can I plug it into my 622 Dish receiver and pull in the HD signals from the local stations which are about 50 miles away?

You can plug it into the 622 and hopefully it should work? There are a lot of variables involved to answer a definate yes, but if your old analog tv worked with the antenna, there is no reason the 622 shouldn't work with it, unless the local channels have not gone digital yet or if they have but are running at a lower power waiting for February 17, 2009 to fire them up to full power. There are a lot of stations doing that, but I would be surprised if you didn't get at least one channel from an attempt? Give it a try..! Good Luck..!!!!

Upon purchasing my new HD TV I found out the hard way that Dish does not carry my local channels in HD. (I am new at this.) I have an outdoor vhf/uhf antenna set up. Can I plug it into my 622 Dish receiver and pull in the HD signals from the local stations which are about 50 miles away?
You shouu is PD be able to do that if your receiver has the antenna input. Remember that Digitsl HD signals are carried on an analog carrier, so therefore analog antennas work just fine!

Reactions: Foxbat
Where do You live? Dish carries nearly all locals in HD, perhaps your dish is pointed to the wrong satellite.