Using an Analog receiver for FTA

Status
Please reply by conversation.

occammd

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Apr 19, 2004
I'm new to this, thanks for your patience. Can I mount the KU in the same feedhorn I have the Cband in right now?

Which box would drive the dishmover?

Are you only picking up Ku FTA? What was your reasoning for this?

yep

Have a 30" dish going to a Pansat 1500 and the Supra (and a Toshiba TRX-1420)

reasoning is there are still things up there that are on analog (usually sports backhauls)

The analog receiver compliments the digital one :)

Does the DVB rcvr decode from the output of the C/Ku Supra, or is the DVB rcvr in parallel with the antenna into the Supra?

If I'm hijacking this thread let me know and I'll start a new one

I split this off to a separate thread :)

In response to your question, my setup is as such

-one line off the LNBF (dual KU) runs directly to the Supra...I only get the vertical polarity on this feed. If I hooked it directly to the other feed, all I would get is horizontal.
-the other line off the LNBF goes to the Pansat..On the "loop out", that goes to the Toshiba TRX-1420 (another C/Ku band). Whatever polarity the Pansat is on, the Toshiba follows.

I know I use to "split" the line coming in and had it go to the DVB receiver and the analog and it did work, but there was some issues with it...I can't remember what it was :)

I do remember when there would be games on adjacent channels (18 & 19 as an example), only one would come in and it would change (sometimes it would be 19, sometimes 18)

occammd said:
Can I mount the KU in the same feedhorn I have the Cband in right now?

First is your dish capable of receiving ku band also? If it is very old mesh dish, it might not be able to. If a pencil can fit through the holes in the mesh, it won't work for ku. If the dish is fine, next you'll probably need a new feedhorn that you can mount a c and ku band lnb to.

Which box would drive the dishmover?