Using existing wiring with new HD Antenna

Status
Please reply by conversation.

GaryPen

Rich or poor, it's good to have money.
Original poster
Supporting Founder
Currently on the roof is an old style round antenna, with a single RG6 coming down into a switch which splits the signal off to 6 old Sony SD receivers.

We're thinking of upgrading 3 of those old SD receivers to new single-tuner non-DVR HD receivers.

Obviously, we'll need a new dish antenna to receive the HD programming. But, will we have to run mutliple cables from it to a new type of switch? Or, can we use the existing cable/switch combo to go the both the old SD and new HD receivers?

Thanks in advance. (I'm new to D* wiring and switch configurations.)

EDIT - In case I wasn't clear with my question above, I will simplify it below:

Can I connect one output of a new Slimline 3lnb dish (99/101/103) to the existing single cable, and use the existing switch to the 6 single-tuner receivers?

Last edited:
Gary

Your choices would be to have a total of 4 wires ran from the Slimline dish to a WB68 multiswitch, from there to each individual receiver. A WB68 has 8 outputs. You didn't ask about DVR's, but you would need 2 wires from the switch to each DVR, along with b-band converters.

Your second choice would be a Slimline 3 SWM, a single wire to a splitter, then out to each receiver. DVR would only need 1 cable, and no b-band converter. Can only use with MPEG4 receivers, ie H2x, HR2*x and R22 receivers.

Alan

Gary

Your choices would be to have a total of 4 wires ran from the Slimline dish to a WB68 multiswitch, from there to each individual receiver. A WB68 has 8 outputs. You didn't ask about DVR's, but you would need 2 wires from the switch to each DVR, along with b-band converters.

Your second choice would be a Slimline 3 SWM, a single wire to a splitter, then out to each receiver. DVR would only need 1 cable, and no b-band converter. Can only use with MPEG4 receivers, ie H2x, HR2*x and R22 receivers.