Using multiple splitters

Status
Please reply by conversation.

dlturner00

Original poster
Jul 21, 2006
I recently switched from Dish to Directv so I am still learning about Dtv. I have a 5th wheel camper in which I have used a tripod and a swm dish with a single H25 receiver. Everything is good with that, set up and it worked fine. I would like to use a second , and maybe a third, H25 in the bedroom. Trying to use the existing wiring, this is what I have come up with.

dtv diagram.gif

Will this work? (splitter after a splitter)

Attachments

• dtv diagram.bmp
    123.6 KB · Views: 128
I recently switched from Dish to Directv so I am still learning about Dtv. I have a 5th wheel camper in which I have used a tripod and a swm dish with a single H25 receiver. Everything is good with that, set up and it worked fine. I would like to use a second , and maybe a third, H25 in the bedroom. Trying to use the existing wiring, this is what I have come up with.

View attachment 85822

Will this work? (splitter after a splitter)
You don't need multiple SWM splitters, just the typical SWM 4 splitter would work for you and the recvrs would all connect into that ONE splitter.

Don't forget to terminate any unused ports.

The reason for 2 splitters is that all the cables don't converge in a central location. In order to connect to the bedrooms, I am using the factory wiring for a rooftop dish, which I never intend to use. $2000 for a satellite dish is not something I'm going to do. The question is can I do it this way, using one splitter to feed another?

The reason for 2 splitters is that all the cables don't converge in a central location. In order to connect to the bedrooms, I am using the factory wiring for a rooftop dish, which I never intend to use. $2000 for a satellite dish is not something I'm going to do. The question is can I do it this way, using one splitter to feed another?