Verizon may bid for D*

Status
Please reply by conversation.
Very interesting...

I have heard rumors that Verizon was talking to Dish earlier in the year, but this is my first time hearing about them going after DirecTV.

Question is a big company ever going to buy Directv and own it for more
then two years?

Perhaps the biggest question is whether Verizon can beat AT&T, previously seen as more likely to go after DirecTV first, to the punch.

Indeed. I tend to think the sale of D* is an "when" question now, and not "if"

Question is a big company ever going to buy Directv and own it for more then two years?

I think this is what is hurting DirecTV, its constantly changing hands.

Its like they start picking them self up and kicking ass then someone hits a pause button on the company and everything starts to go to hell (maybe while due diligance is done) and then a new owner comes in and starts to try making things run well again.

I hope whoever buys it KEEPS IT.

AT&T might not want DirecTV. I have heard some buzz that AT&T is not happy with their DirecTV deal and were doing more sales with Dish Network then they are with DirecTV.

I hear t heir sales started off great but then took a sharp nosedive and havent picked up again since.

Maybe AT&T is starting to understand that all the low hanging fruit (ie new customers) have already been picked.

I would think Verizon would be happier with Dish, esp if they paired the ViP series machines with Fios. But, I suppose if they really saw the value in the ViP series, they could do a deal with Echostar today. Maybe the players are waiting on Tivo lawsuit developments, like a settlement.

I don't think Verizon buying either Dish or Direct would be good for consumers. FIOS rolling out and becoming a legitimate option for many people will increase the competitive pressure in the marketplace. Two players merging will create less competition and that will mean less benefits to consumers. Here's hoping it doesn't happen!