Version iPhone 4 app instructions please

Dcdmd13

Apr 4, 2011
Somewhere in Missouri.
I am about to return to the Dish network world as a installer. I am also new to the iPhone. I downloaded the DP AR app to help with my job. But I can't seem to figure out how to get it to work. I have tried time and time again and just can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. I live in the Kansas city Missouri area so I'm looking for the 110,119,129

I guess I need someone to give me step by step instruction for a dummy :rant:

Thanks,

AlanSH

DishPointer.COM Admin
Pub Member / Supporter
Sep 4, 2007
My guess is that you are not getting a location fix. Because no location, no satellites. Go to your phone settings and in there under location services make sure that location services is enabled at the top and also enabled for DP AR further down the list.

After that, open up the DP app, go to the camera screen and you should get a location fix - once you get a fix, there will be a lat and long number at the bottom left. If you then point your iPhone towards the southern sky, you should see the satellites appear on the screen.

Dcdmd13

Apr 4, 2011
Somewhere in Missouri.
Ok made sure that everything is on. I start the app and it is showing my lat and Lon I have tried locking the compass at 180 degrees and without locking it. I figured it would be a fairly simple app but I just can't seem to get it right.

AlanSH

DishPointer.COM Admin
Pub Member / Supporter
Sep 4, 2007
What's the part that you cannot get right? Could you please expand a bit more about the issue you are having?

Dcdmd13

Apr 4, 2011
Somewhere in Missouri.
Everything seems to work but auctually seeing the satellites. I get a Lon and Lat reading the compass is working I can lock it at 180 or leave it alone and it moves when I do. (numbers change) but when I raise it up to check LOS issues all I see is a normal camera view with no satellites showing. Just looks like I started the camera.

Dcdmd13

Apr 4, 2011