Video Sender?

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by phlatwound, Feb 10, 2018.

  1. phlatwound

    phlatwound Topic Starter FTA Bumpkin
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Posts:
    3,190
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Hillbillistan, AKA god's country (37N, 93W)
    Gotcha, just read that link, I'm gonna get a Solo and retrieve a Roku streaming stick I lent out a couple of years ago to get this show on the road.

    And looking forward to when we get our ISP bandwidth upgrade to experiment with the remote viewing capabilities also, I can see where that would be useful.

    Thanks osu and everyone for your thoughts and help, the knowledge base here never ceases to amaze!
     
  2. *** WELCOME TO SATELLITEGUYS! ***
  3. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    5,601
    Likes Received:
    2,296
    Location:
    Montana
    A lot of variation among the Slingboxes. The older ones were the better ones IMHO. The newer ones do not have all the connection options but have HDMI. You will need the RCA analog connection red/white/yellow from the microHD.
     
  4. phlatwound

    phlatwound Topic Starter FTA Bumpkin
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Posts:
    3,190
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Hillbillistan, AKA god's country (37N, 93W)
    Looks like the SB260 and SB300s have RCA, component and S-Video I/O ports on them (as well as USB and Ethernet).

    I am using the HDMI port on the microHD to feed the tv in that room.
     
  5. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    8,810
    Likes Received:
    1,460
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    Not sure, but I think the 350 or 500 were the last ones with composite/component inputs. I use the component outputs on the 350.

    Edit: of course I’m wrong as jcrandall has an M1 for sale now in the classifieds and it has the component outs.
     
    #24 osu1991, Feb 11, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2018
  6. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    12,986
    Likes Received:
    1,126
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Don't bet your future on NTSC being as good as satellite SD -- especially if it is being RF modulated in between two composite connections. You often get what you pay for with modulators.

    Then there is the issue of taking an SD signal and degrading it with multiple lossy connections. If the remote TV is of significant size, it can make a blurry signal that much worse. Most don't hate SD so much as how their HDTV handles it.

    I suppose that with an FTA setup, you are not as likely to channel surf. A DVR without a remote would be a death wish.
     
  7. phlatwound

    phlatwound Topic Starter FTA Bumpkin
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Posts:
    3,190
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Hillbillistan, AKA god's country (37N, 93W)
    I picked up a SB300 locally for $20. It has composite, component, S-video and RF (ATSC or QAM) inputs.

    Will be a while before I have time to mess with it but looking forward to getting it up and running on my home network, and playing with remote viewing when we get our ISP upgrade.
     
    osu1991 and Magic Static like this.
  8. wallyhts

    wallyhts SatelliteGuys Pro
    HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Posts:
    3,046
    Likes Received:
    313
    Nice!! Whats the upgrade getting you speed wise?
     
  9. phlatwound

    phlatwound Topic Starter FTA Bumpkin
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Posts:
    3,190
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Hillbillistan, AKA god's country (37N, 93W)
    We have been on 1.5m down/256k up for several years and our area is being upgraded as part of the CAF (Connect America Fund) Phase II.

    Federal Communications Commission GIS Program

    When the build-out is complete and online we will have a minimum of 10/1 up-down, maybe 20 and possibly a max of 40m down.

    Speeds like that are probably not too impressive to typical city/suburban peeps but us hillbillies are pretty amped up. :biggrin
     
  10. fayrich

    fayrich Old Fart
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    977
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    CLEVELAND, OHIO AREA
    Check out a "MyWirelessTv". Used one for a couple of years with my DTV box before I decided to "cut the cord". Worked very well for HD.
     
    phlatwound likes this.
  11. phlatwound

    phlatwound Topic Starter FTA Bumpkin
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Posts:
    3,190
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Hillbillistan, AKA god's country (37N, 93W)
    Interesting, that unit never hit my radar while I was searching for "wireless A/V senders", not sure why.

    I have had some Actiontec modems, never had an issue with that brand.

    For $20, and all the additional capability (remote viewing), I don't see how I can go wrong with the SlingBox. ;)
     
  12. phlatwound

    phlatwound Topic Starter FTA Bumpkin
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Posts:
    3,190
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Hillbillistan, AKA god's country (37N, 93W)
    Got the Slingbox up and going on my home network, works great. Also was able to view on my phone using cellular data, even with our skinny 256K upload speed.

    Couldn't find my A/V breakout cable for the microHD so I hooked up our old SD DVD player for an A/V input.

    IIRC the micro needs a certain tip length on the connector, does anyone know a source for the correct cable in case I can't find mine?
     
    osu1991 likes this.
  13. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    5,162
    Likes Received:
    4,221
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    I posted the microHD pin config. specs in the STB section many years ago. Not finding it now.

    Maybe check with Satellite AV? they might have some on the warehouse shelves.
     
  14. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    5,601
    Likes Received:
    2,296
    Location:
    Montana
  15. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    12,986
    Likes Received:
    1,126
    Location:
    Salem, OR
  16. phlatwound

    phlatwound Topic Starter FTA Bumpkin
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Posts:
    3,190
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Hillbillistan, AKA god's country (37N, 93W)
    I remember seeing those pin specs BITD but didn't save them.

    If I can't turn mine up I will check with them, thanks Ti.
     
  17. phlatwound

    phlatwound Topic Starter FTA Bumpkin
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Posts:
    3,190
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Hillbillistan, AKA god's country (37N, 93W)
    And there is the diagram, thanks.

    Good to know the Amiko cable should be the same, another option.

    My cable is around here somewhere but...if ya can't find it, ya don't own it.
     
  18. phlatwound

    phlatwound Topic Starter FTA Bumpkin
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Posts:
    3,190
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Hillbillistan, AKA god's country (37N, 93W)
    I actually tried a breakout cable from an old Panasonic camcorder last weekend, no dice, think it's too short and it appears from that chart probably has the wrong pinout anyway.

    Will give this joint one more search this weekend, then to Plan B.
     



***

Separate names with a comma.

More...