vip 612 install

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

EdB_4721

Original poster
Mar 3, 2009
Wisconsin
I am a novice at this so please bear with me.

I bought a vip 612. I have a dish 500 with a quad lnb and, when I got HD another dish was added I asssume to get the hd signal. I am having problems getting the 612 to work. I am dropping signals from the satellites. I get 61.5, 110 and 119, but not all at the same time.

I got a separator with the receiver, however since the quad is older I would say it was from 2002 I do not believe DPP switch to be compatible with the separator. In any event the receiver won't work with the separator.

I do have a spare coax coming from the quad. From a receiver we do not use any more. I tried hooking one to both the sat inputs on the receive but I get a message that I am aimed at two different satelllites. When I unhook one cable the receiver works, but then I lose signal. From one of the three sats. Any help would be apppreciated.

Ed.

What model number is on the switch?

More than likely you have Legacy LNBs. Your best would be to upgrade to DP+ technology (DP+ twin for 110/119...DP dual for 61.5). If that's not possible, you may want to consider using the Legacy quad with a pair of SW21s and a Legacy dual (you won't need to use a separator, but it *will* need two feeds feeding Tuner 1 and Tuner 2)