ViP722 and OTA antenna

TomT223

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Nov 8, 2007
Texas
Newbie here. Due to their hideous customer service I'm taking the satellite plunge. Sold on Dish Network because of the 722 DVR. Because I have great reception with existing OTA antenna I'm thinking of opting out of the Dish local service offer. I have a couple of questions though regarding the use of an OTA antenna and the 722.

If I plug the antenna into the 722 will I be able to record OTA shows through the DVR?

Will I be able to view OTA HD shows on my TV2 through the OTA connection on the 722 receiver?

Thanks.

Your will be able to record one ota digital signal (no analog tuner) and it is attached to tv1 output. OTA does not pass thru to the tv2. You can split the signal before the input and combine (use a splitter in reverse) to combine the rf output with the signal and carry that to the second tv.

You will need to subscibe to the DISH locals if want to have guide info for your OTA channels or the giude will just say digital channel.

Newbie here. Due to their hideous customer service I'm taking the satellite plunge. Sold on Dish Network because of the 722 DVR. Because I have great reception with existing OTA antenna I'm thinking of opting out of the Dish local service offer. I have a couple of questions though regarding the use of an OTA antenna and the 722.

If I plug the antenna into the 722 will I be able to record OTA shows through the DVR?

Will I be able to view OTA HD shows on my TV2 through the OTA connection on the 722 receiver?

Thanks.

I have the 722 & a roof antenna. I record 2 shows daily off of the OTA ant.-(In HD) which plugs into the back of the 722 unit. I record all my OTA shows on my HD TV-(TV 1) and the #2 TV is in SD as far as I know.