ViP722 Ethernet Connection Question

justthinking

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Oct 3, 2004
I was able to connect my ViP722 to my home network and internet using my old Linksys game adapter WGA54G..
However, I notice that on my DHCP client list, ViP722 doesn't have a name assign to it..
Is there a way to config the ViP722 so my router can pickup the device name??

I don't know if that's possible. I'm not sure there's that much intelligence behind the 722 connection, but even if there were, your wireless gaming adapter is going to be the client that connects to your router, so that would be where I would look first. If you can give that client a name like VIP722, then you would be set.

I'm not a pro, I know just enough to be dangerous, but those are my thoughts.

I was able to connect my ViP722 to my home network and internet using my old Linksys game adapter WGA54G..
However, I notice that on my DHCP client list, ViP722 doesn't have a name assign to it..
Is there a way to config the ViP722 so my router can pickup the device name??
Can't help with that. Out of curiosity, though, how do you interact with the Internet/722? Do you use a wireless mouse and keyboard? Or is your computer situated in LOS with the TV (monitor)?

I have a wireless router and have considered hooking into the internet. I have the right equipment and think that I could do it with some free time and persistence.

You cannot assign a name to the receiver. This is appropriate as there's no reason to address it. You can use the MAC address to identify it in a crowd.

Can't help with that. Out of curiosity, though, how do you interact with the Internet/722? Do you use a wireless mouse and keyboard? Or is your computer situated in LOS with the TV (monitor)?