Vip722K to Hopper3?

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by GeeFarce, Jan 9, 2019.

  1. GeeFarce

    GeeFarce Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Usa
    hi, sorry I’m a newbie. I searched and read a few threads on LNB change requirements, and/or switch to get to H3 support. That said there were some references on how to wire but I couldn’t find them while searching.

    I’m trying to figure out what equipment I can keep and what would have to be swapped. I have one dish, and 2 722K boxes. I own the equipment and would like to do the work myself, as it’s a hobby for me to learn new things.

    Can someone help advise me on what’s required? Or point me directly to the diy thread, if it exists?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Voyager6

    Voyager6 Just lost in space
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Posts:
    10,147
    Likes Received:
    3,337
    Location:
    Sol 3
    GeeFarce, HipKat and JSheridan like this.
  3. GeeFarce

    GeeFarce Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Usa
    Thanks Voyager. I read through the materials. A few more newbie questions...the LNBFs look like they can mount onto the existing dish satellite, just swap them out, or do I need a new dish with the 1002?

    Also, I’m in southwestern US, so I’m assuming I need western arc components?

    Lastly, i spread some customers have ,ultiple dishes...I have 1 dish with 3 (LNBFs?) (or the white plastic knobs facing the dish). Under them there is 1 sticker that says RN dp plus digital LNBF. And a barcode.

    From my dish, there is a cable going just under ground to a weatherproof box, and then a cable from there to where the house pre-wired coax ports are exposed to the external wall. I haven’t opened up the middle box, but assume that’s where this hybrid switch might go, else it’s power? (And I put all the switch etc in the diagram internally in the house near the hopper or access panel?)

    Thanks again!
     
  4. Voyager6

    Voyager6 Just lost in space
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Posts:
    10,147
    Likes Received:
    3,337
    Location:
    Sol 3
    HipKat, GeeFarce and charlesrshell like this.
  5. GeeFarce

    GeeFarce Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Usa
  6. Voyager6

    Voyager6 Just lost in space
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Posts:
    10,147
    Likes Received:
    3,337
    Location:
    Sol 3
    No problem. Happy to help. There are several Dish installers here if you need more assistance. Look for HipKat or JSheridan as they seem to be around quite often.
     
  7. boba

    boba SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Posts:
    11,239
    Likes Received:
    949
    Location:
    Dorchester, TX.
    If the dish is a 1000.2 you can keep it. The 722K's will have to go and be replaced with Joeys probably 3 if you want to keep your current flexability. The LNB has to be switched to a hybrid. The 722s have to go because DISH does not allow them on a Hopper account.
     
  8. GeeFarce

    GeeFarce Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Usa
    One other question related...if I change out the LNB but don’t have my hopper yet, will it work with my 722k as is now, or do I need to do both at the same time?
     
  9. Partysox

    Partysox SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,622
    Likes Received:
    678
    Location:
    N central Indiana
    You need to do both at the same time.
     
    GeeFarce likes this.
  10. GeeFarce

    GeeFarce Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Usa
    Ok thx
     
  11. GeeFarce

    GeeFarce Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Usa
    Solid signal shows H3 boxes and at the bottom of the listing shows:

    DISH Network Sells us receivers at their own discretion whether it is a new or refurbished model. We have no control over this. Please assume you are getting a refurbished model, though many times the receivers are new.

    I don’t typically get refurbished things. Can someone comment whether I should steer clear of this and find a new in box one?
     
  12. Voyager6

    Voyager6 Just lost in space
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Posts:
    10,147
    Likes Received:
    3,337
    Location:
    Sol 3
    You can try Dish Depot or Ebay. I believe that Dish will sell you one directly or you could talk to a local Dish retailer.
    https://store.dishdepot.com/hopper-3-receiver-remote
     
    GeeFarce likes this.
  13. boba

    boba SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Posts:
    11,239
    Likes Received:
    949
    Location:
    Dorchester, TX.
    Even DISH sells refurbs as new in box, They repack the receivers and remotes so they look new. If you are leasing from DISH you don't own the receiver so it doesn't matter if it is refurbished.
     
    GeeFarce and JSheridan like this.
  14. Bobby

    Bobby Publican
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    54,487
    Likes Received:
    8,023
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    Did you read the original post? He is very specific about owning his equipment and wanting to stay that way.
     
  15. GeeFarce

    GeeFarce Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Usa
    Thanks all. I ordered one from Dish and it’s marked as new vs. others indicating they’re refurbished, hopefully I get a new one since I paid extra hoping I would.
     
  16. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    3,878
    Likes Received:
    6,200
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    I'm quite sure that without being marked Refurbished you'd never know the difference
     
    charlesrshell and Bobby like this.
  17. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    7,512
    Likes Received:
    2,442
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Did you check out dishdepot?

    https://store.dishdepot.com/hopper-3-receiver-remote
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...