Wally Time & OTA Data Wrong?

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by reubenray, Sep 16, 2019.

  1. reubenray

    reubenray Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Posts:
    233
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Elberta, AL
    I am traveling in my RV and I will be on the East coast for several weeks. How can I change the time on just the Wally to reflect the correct time zone?

    Also I am getting the wrong data for my local channels as I move across the country. The last stop had the correct data. This stop does not. I know there was a thread about this somewhere, but I could not find it. Where there a solution for this besides manually scheduling a recording?
     
  2. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Master Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    5,427
    Likes Received:
    8,885
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    Are you talking about the locals pertaining to your location or your home locals? As for the time, I bet a hard reset or a Check Switch might fix that
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  3. reubenray

    reubenray Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Posts:
    233
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Elberta, AL
    I am referring to my locals pertaining to my current location. I did a reset (in diagnostics) and a check switch and it did not help.

    I even did a rescan of my OTA with the antenna disconnected and then with it back connected. It still shows the wrong guide data.
     
    #3 reubenray, Sep 16, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2019
  4. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Master Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    5,427
    Likes Received:
    8,885
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    I hate to be negative, but this really doesn’t surprise me because I know a lot of the OTA jobs that I’ve done, it took a long time for the data to show up
     
  5. crodrules

    crodrules The Happy Pessimist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,567
    Likes Received:
    3,380
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    You shouldn't bet on that. :biggrin2 The time zone on the receiver is set based on the Service Address on the account. The Topic Starter could change the Service Address to an Eastern Time Zone address to change the time zone on the Wally, but that would also change the time zone setting on any other receivers on the same account.

    When you say you are getting the wrong guide data, is it the data for the previously scanned locals (wrong market) or for a wrong channel from the current market? I have seen both problems before. If the guide data for old locals (no longer scanned in) is still showing up on the wrong channels, then like HipKat said earlier, that should resolve itself but it may take awhile. Leaving the Wally in standby and letting it take a fresh guide download may help, but you may still have to wait until after the scheduled daily reset (or longer) for the guide data to start getting mapped correctly.

    On the other hand, if the guide data that is showing up is for a different channel in the same market, then that is likely an issue with Dish's OTA guide database, and there is nothing you can do on your end to fix it. This is usually caused when two local channels start sharing the same frequency, and Dish's database cannot map the guide correctly to each channel. To use an example from my market (Cleveland, Ohio) WRLM virtual channel 47 now shares the same frequency as WEAO virtual channel 49. Since both virtual channels are in the same stream, they now have the same Transport Stream ID (TSID). Dish's guide mapping database only looks for the TSID and subchannel number (-01 in this case) to map the guide data, ignoring the different primary channel numbers (47 vs. 49). The host station is WEAO, so this issue causes the guide data for 049-01 to get mapped to both 047-01 and 049-01.
     
  6. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Master Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    5,427
    Likes Received:
    8,885
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    Ahhhhh, learn something new, every day
     
    crodrules likes this.
  7. crodrules

    crodrules The Happy Pessimist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,567
    Likes Received:
    3,380
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    Yes, I happened to know that answer from experience, having "moved" to the Los Angeles market to get Superstation KTLA, at a time when I did not care whether I could actually receive the rest of the local networks. (Locals are included in Welcome Pack, so it was not like I was paying extra for just that one channel.) Naturally, that changed the time zone in my Guide to Pacific Time, even though I was physically located in the Eastern Time Zone.
     
  8. reubenray

    reubenray Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Posts:
    233
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Elberta, AL
    I have no idea what channel or where this channel is that I am getting the data on. I am using TitanTV to know what times I can record the shows we want to watch. The data is wrong, but shows are correct. I cannot find the shows that are shown on the guide on any channels where I am currently at.
     
  9. DISH Support

    DISH Support OFFICIAL DISH SUPPORT Staff Member DISH DIRT TEAM!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Posts:
    309
    Likes Received:
    385
    Hello reubenray. If you are still getting the wrong data on your Wally's guide, that is definitely something we would want to look into and make sure that the service zip code matches your RV's current location. We’re not able to access accounts or make changes through Satellite Guys at this time, but you can reach out to our Chat teams by clicking this link: Direct Chat. We have agents ready to assist. -Jasmine D.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  10. reubenray

    reubenray Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Posts:
    233
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Elberta, AL
    I just tried chat and the person I was chatting with had no idea about the OTA adapter. She wanted to change my Dish provided locals at home. I do not want to change my service address. I was just wanting the correct guide data while using the OTA adapter. Hopefully she did not mess up my locals at home.
     
  11. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8,434
    Likes Received:
    9,111
    Location:
    USA
    As you've already discovered your guide data will be for wherever your service address is. If you want guide data for OTA that isn't where your service address is then you'll probably have to hook the antenna up to your TV or consult an online guide.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  12. reubenray

    reubenray Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Posts:
    233
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Elberta, AL
    The guide was correct at my last location which was not my service address.
     
    crodrules likes this.
  13. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8,434
    Likes Received:
    9,111
    Location:
    USA
    Guess you got lucky.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  14. crodrules

    crodrules The Happy Pessimist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,567
    Likes Received:
    3,380
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    Perhaps if you post a picture of the incorrect guide data, that might help us figure out what station it is, and maybe even why its data is being mapped to the wrong channel in your guide.

    Luck has nothing to do with it. That is the way the system is supposed to work: the receiver scans the entire satellite-delivered guide database for all of the locals nationwide, to match the TSID being broadcast by each station to the TSID code in Dish's database, to map the guide data stream to the correct OTA channel, regardless of where the receiver is physically located. The problem comes when either: the station is broadcasting the wrong TSID (or Dish's database information for that station is incorrect) or when the frequency-sharing situation I described earlier happens, since Dish's system was not set up to deal with a single station having multiple channels with the same subchannel number (such as -01) but different primary channel numbers. I do not know if Dish is working on a solution for the frequency-sharing situation at the moment. However, if the wrong guide data is being caused by a TSID mismatch, and the information about which station is being mapped to which channel gets submitted to Dish, then they do occasionally correct these mistakes, although it is not a huge priority.
     
  15. reubenray

    reubenray Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Posts:
    233
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Elberta, AL
    This morning one of the channels has the right info. The other channels are showing "no information available".
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...