What are the differences

Tyralak

SatelliteGuys Master
Original poster
Oct 21, 2003
Secure, Undisclosed Location
I'm a bit new to the whole HD-DVD vs Blue Ray discussion. I haven't follwed it because I refuse to buy anything until a format is decided upon. However, I'd like to know if anyone can tell me what the main differences are between the two formats? I had a knee-jerk reaction to support Blu-Ray, because of it's larger storage capacity, but I've been hearing some good things about HD-DVD lately.

To make it as format neutral as possible:

What HD/BD have the same:
- physical size of the disk
- using blue laser
- AACS
- same video formats
- some of the audio formats

What they have different:
- thickness of the disk protection layer (0.6mm vs. 0.1 mm)
- OPU (optical pickup unit)
- amount of storage (30GB vs. 50GB, dual layer)
- mandatory audio codecs
- BD+ is only on Blu-ray (and only FOX titles so far)
- interactivity system (HDi vs. BD-J)
- companies supporting them

Diogen.

Diogen, You left out a few differances:

-One offers PCM while the other offers DD+.
-One has a higher bandwith output of both video and audio.
-One has internet access as a requirement while the other has it as an option not available yet.
-One offers a combo disc with HD on one side and regular DVD on the other

Diogen, You left out a few differances:

-One offers PCM while the other offers DD+.

Both formats do PCM. It's found more prevalent on Blu. However, HD-DVD can handle PCM if the content provider chooses to use it.

Both formats are more similar than they are different. Both support the same audio and video codecs. None support deep color.

Blu-Ray has region coding, but most studios actually don't use it. HD-DVD currently does not have region coding.

I should have mentioned max bandwidth difference and region coding.
The rest is a play between mandatory and optional.

Diogen.