What cable do I need?

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by hillbillybill, Jan 3, 2019.

  1. hillbillybill

    hillbillybill Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Rosston, Arkansas
    What is the 5 stranded cable going from your receiver to your actuator/LNBF called? I have some lengths of it laying around. Can I splice it together? I thought about splicing together and then sealing the splice with epoxy. If I did this wouldn't I need to shield the wires going to the actuator motor? Also, as a last resort where can this cable be purchased?
     
  2. voomvoom

    voomvoom SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    6,634
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Lizella, Georgia Republic
    It was called RIBBON Cable....
    Have no idea where you can find it?
    Or, if you can find it anymore?
     
  3. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    5,680
    Likes Received:
    5,171
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Ribbon cable is not available anymore. Alternative solutions are readily available using separate runs of control/sensor wires and RG-6 quad shield coax.

    Here is a link to some high quality rotor control wire that would be perfect for actuator motor power and sheilded reed switch sensor: DX Engineering CW1812OR Heavy-Duty Spec Rotator Cable DXE-CW1812OR

    Less expensive control wire solutions such as home security shielded 18g, 3+ sheild wire bundles are sold at Lowes/Home Depot (one pair for read switch sensor and a second if running a polarity servo motor on the feedhorn). Power can be provided via direct burial 12g or 14g low voltage landscape wire.


    I would not advise splicing old cables together. Coax cable splices are typical failure points and if the coax has been previously used it may be RG-59 with high signal loss or if older, the dielectric may have been compromised by moisture or age related breakdown. If you do go this route, test before burying.
     
    k.r. and raydio like this.
  4. armadillo_115

    armadillo_115 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Posts:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    838
    Location:
    Cana Va
    According to a quick google search:
    Tek2000 shows 18 gauge actuator cable for 60 cent a foot. And 16 gauge for 80 cent a foot.
    rpssat shows actuator cable for 95 cents a foot
    At least 1 UK site carries it, but shipping would probably be a killer.

    There's a couple places to get you started.

    * I have no history with either company, so do your homework. I would telephone first to verify that the item is still available. One problem with satellite supplies online.... product listings are often outdated or the company is no longer in business.

    Good luck!
     
  5. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    5,680
    Likes Received:
    5,171
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    The Tek2000 4/16g product has a shield around all 4 wires and not only around the two sensor wires. This shielding will not protect the sensor circuit wires from the motor power. I would not recommend running motor power and read sensor inside the same shield. We have helped several install threads on this forum when the member had actuator count errors using this cable.

    The RPS cable was appropriate, but it is out of stock. Might call Roger and see if it is on back order.

    Skyxpress.net carries shielded control cable and I believe they cut to length.
     
  6. armadillo_115

    armadillo_115 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Posts:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    838
    Location:
    Cana Va
    Great info Brian, thanks!

    I've been needing a bit more myself... just haven't come off the hip to buy any yet.
     
    Titanium likes this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...