What can I do to use my DirecTV service?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

RobDiddy Banker

Original poster
Nov 3, 2010
Someone sent me the link to this site today.... So I'm a newb here and I'm sorry to both you guys who are better with DirecTV with a new question.

This is my situation, I moved from one apartment to another. I have all of my DirecTV install stuff, the move was about 1 mile down the road to the east. My new apartment complex will not allow me to have DirecTV installed because they have a DishNetwork only policy. I have an apartment that faces the east, not the west. Is there any possible way... that I can...

1) Install my Dish inside of my apartment? it's on the ground floor of the building. I have a pole from my previous directv setup. I have all the equipment, it's the new slim line dish.

2) Is there any way to talk my apartment complex into allowing me to have directv?

I really need some sort of help here and this is the best place I felt to address this. I signed up in August when I broke my knee cap... I had no idea we would be moving so soon, the DirecTV is in my name but I live with my parents. My parents names are on the lease to the apartment. The guy I spoke to at DirecTV wanted to force me to pay a cancellation fee and then asked me if I had another house? if my family had a second home that I could install it at. I felt really insulted by this guy and his demeanor on the phone.

First of all the apartment complex can't prevent you from having whatever DBS service you want.
There are limitations as to where the dish can be installed.

However, you do need to have line of sight to the southwest if you live in the east or to the southeast if you're in the west.

Read through this document and then show it to your landlord.
FCC Fact Sheet on Placement of Antennas