What can I do with a 12' Paraclipse on my roof?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

reptiles

Original poster
Sep 2, 2008
Philadelphia, PA
Greetings,

I remember helping my Father install this monster decades ago on the roof of the house. He built an immense iron structure in the attic to support a single stainless pipe that exited the peak of the roof.

As far as I recall it was a dual band 12' Paraclipse with button hook feed (with 3 stainless steel cables holding it centered) and a horizon to horizon, belt drive mount.

The inside electronics are long gone.

Anyway, he died years ago, and Mom just moved off to a retirement community... so I'm back in the house as the new owner.

I figure it would be interesting to get it working again; and cheaper than having it removed.

What can one do with a BUD (acquired that most endearing term from reading this forum) that a simple DirectTV type dish can't do?

Ham radio stuff is also a possibility, as I'm a technician class license holder (3 years) but only operate voice on 2meters, 220 and 440Mhz... never thought of moon bounce, Amsat, etc.

So I'm starting my quest to try to try to figure this out. I have no documentation on the Paraclipse, and I suspect the drive belt (at least, needs replacement -It looks like the timing belt from a Japanese car... ?) Dish and mesh actually looks pretty good --no visible damage, only the steel box mounted under the dish is rusty.)

I would welcome any thoughts or advice at this juncture.

Cheers,

Mark

You might find brother Stogie's saga of bringing home a 12' Paraclipse, and installing it, pretty interesting.
Most any of the threads in the BUD department will get you some basic info on big dishes.
There are other threads where newbies have pretty much asked the same question.
However, we're always happy to indoctrinate a new person, so once you have a question, go right ahead and ask.

Oh, and do post some pictures.
It'll get you better answers.

Paraclipse Website Still Up!