What Dish Needed for Solo 211k?

maheider

Original poster
Nov 2, 2010
General, OH
I tried browsing and searching the forum, but could not find what I was looking for, though I had trouble determining what keywords I should use so maybe there is already and answer to this. If that is the case, I would appreciate being directed to the thread(s), and sorry for the extra post here. I have a Solo 211k that I would like to take to our hunting camp to use for the week we are there every year. I have no experience installing dish systems, but I assume that it is relatively easy, except for perhaps getting the dish initially aligned. So, I assume I can do this myself, but I do not know what specific type of dish I should be looking to purchase, nor do I know exactly what I need to connect to where. Can anyone provide a bit of help for me? I guess what I am looking for is what model/type of dish I need, do I need to run just one cable from the dish to the receiver, and if so, what connection point do I use on the dish end, since I presume there is more than one choice? If I only need one coax cable, will that provide all the channels, or will I only get ones off of one of the satellites? Also, are there any switches or anything else I might need to make this work? Lastly, any practical tips anyone wishes to provide to help get this set up as painlessly as possible would be appreciated as well. I'm sure there are some "tricks of the trade" that make getting things aligned a bit easier. Thanks for any help and guidance you can provide. M.H. I forgot to explain that this would be used in a non-permanent trailer, with a generator. Since it is not a permanent location, I assume that Dishnetwork would not have a problem with me using the receiver in this way. If that is not the case, and this is not an appropriate use, please let me know and disregard the question.

Last edited:
The 211 is compatible with any dish, lnb or switch. It only needs 1 line from any of them