What else can I do to boost reception?

crash331

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Mar 6, 2005
I have a RadioShack 160" boom antenna which is rated at 100+ miles. I am 60 miles from my market and I am still having trouble recieving stations. I have a ChannelMaster Spartan pre-amp attached (rated at 23db/16db I believe). I uses my Silva Ranger compass to point it precisely at 152 degrees, which is where all the stations are located from this far. I have the antenna mounted on my chimney, so it is probably 30-40 feet off the ground.

Will an amplifier help? I am afraid it will overload the channels I am already getting good. Here is how my reception is working out:

2 - ABC, can't get it on the roof, but I got it with the antenna sitting on my pool deck last night, unmounted.
5 - Fox, can't get it.
11 - NBC. Comes in perfectly. 90-100% signal.
12 - CBS, can't get it. I have heard rumors of CBS-Atlanta broadcasting at 60%, so I really don't care about this one.
14 - Pax. Comes in perfectly like NBC.
17 - TBS. Signal fluctuates form 0-40%, never get a picture.
43 - UPN. Comes in alright. Occasional drop outs.
46 - WB. Comes in about 5 seconds, breaks up for 5, etc.

The rest are all religious channels that I don't really care about. Ironically, I get all 10 or 15 of them at 100%.

And I'd rather not spend $200 on a gigantic Winegard and have to remount. The one I have is rated purple anyway.

OTA DT-reception

ref: Antenna & Pre-Amp

1. Suggest verification that the antenna that is rated at the"160mi" range is "UHF" rated,and not "VHF". NOTE: The ATSC' freqs or more UHF sensitive.

2. Ideally, an "amplified"(AC plug-in) type of Channel Master Distribution Amplifier between the antenna, the "RG-6" cable(no RG-59 please), and your ATSC Tuner will really increases your reception sensitivity!!

http://community-2.webtv/HDTVinfo/DTugusta/

OTA DT-reception

To: Cash 335