What happens when the trees hide the birds?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

BobHelms

Original poster
Aug 28, 2007
Cary, NC
I'm a newbie here looking for some answers / advice. I'm seriously considering placing an order for D* but I'm concerned that my neighbors tree line will cause problems. I would expect that D* will want some obligation on my part (credit card number) before they dispatch whom ever to my house to do an install. Are there deposits involved? So the installer arrives, takes a look see and says sorry you don't have a LOS for D*, now what? Does the installer call D* to tell them I can't have D*? Do I have to call D* and tell them it won't work? How does this scenario play out? Should I call E* and see if they can get a LOS? A guy down the street has E* but I (at this point) would rather have D*. TIA for the help.:confused:

As far as I know there is no deposit. I never had to give a deposit when I got my D* service.

If the tech gets there and he has no LOS there is really nothing you can do besides taking a saw to the tree. The 99, 101 and 103 birds are pretty high up there so if the tree is not to tall you still may be ok. I have a huge pecan tree in the back yard but the dish actually shots over it and the lowest signal I have on all birds is 91. If 110 and 119 are also blocked E* may also be out of the picture as 110 and 119 is what E* uses also. You may however be able to get something from E* called the 'Eastern Arc' which would point the dish more toward the east. Hopefully there is nothing in the way to the east of you.

Good Luck

You shouldn't have to pay anything - though it depends on the equipment that you are getting and your credit rating ...

If they can't install - they will let directv know ... and you can either get someone out for a second opinion - or else they will refund you any monies that you have paid, back to the card that you used when you signed up ... (within a few days)