What to do now

VewDew

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Feb 4, 2004
Northern California
Has anyone else felt like they have no clue what to do about Voom now? I have been a subscriber since 2/2004. I have enjoyed it, hated it, enjoyed it, hated it...you get the picture. I am also a D* subscriber because of the sports packages and I have the new D* HD tivo. Once the HD tivo came out I cut back on Voom waiting on what was going to happen. My main problem is that I was a $700 purchaser of the receiver, I did get the refund and watched Voom for free for a few months so I have no problem with the price I paid, my only question is, What is next? I would like to hear from Voom or E* what they have planned. If it's sorry you are stuck, OK, just let me know!

I know what you mean. I purchased my first HDTV back in Sep '04 and then signed up with Voom in Nov. I knew that Voom would probably not make it in the long run, I just felt like we had a couple more years before a buyout.

I studied Voom for at least six months before i subscribed. The number of HD channels ( particularly HBO, Max, Show, & Starz) and the overall pq was the deciding factor. Receiver rental was also key ( the best decision I made, it turns out.)

Now I'm looking at Dtv & Dish and I'm just sad. HDnet will be nice, I think, but both services need more premiums. NOW. Not next year. Sure local HD will be nice some day when the AL channels are made available. If ever. But what will I watch until then? As for sports I love College Football and F1 racing. I don't need Sunday ticket, ANY baseball or God forbid any aspects of the NBA. So I'm covered on sports. I'm working on my antenna for OTA local HD.

And now I have to buy an HD receiver after all. But Mpeg-4 is also "coming soon." From my research over the last two days Dtv seems to have the edge in HD-STB quality and they also have a working HD-DVR (for $850 - $999). Does anyone have any good reasons for me to keep considering dish at all?