Whats everybody timesifting on the OpenBox?

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

odinbear

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Nov 27, 2010
central NY
How many of you guys with FTA Receivers hooked up the External Drive for Timeshifting of Programming and what shows are being timeshifted.
I was over a friends house last week and his cable had "shows on demand" (basically timeshifted programming, correct?). We watched like 4 episodes of Storage Wars. Is this what the timeshifting feature capable of?

I'm still learning the quirks of it. I set up a recording of a movie at 3am my wife wanted. But I fell asleep listening to a radio channel and at 3am it switched to the sat I wanted, but still in the radio mode, no recording at all. I do use the jump back feature all the time when i miss something or want instant replay. Works fine.

Jim

timeshifting is basically the ability to record a program or if you are watching a program you can go back (timeshift) as far as you have been on that channel.

Now if you tune in at 3:12 you cant go back to 3:00 when the show started to view ;)

what you described above is video on demand which is different

timeshifting is basically the ability to record a program or if you are watching a program you can go back (timeshift) as far as you have been on that channel.

Now if you tune in at 3:12 you cant go back to 3:00 when the show started to view ;)

what you described above is video on demand which is different

Odin,

Yes, you are confusing the concepts of TIMESHIFTing and VOD.