Where to buy an aZbox?

ColoSat101

Original poster
Feb 12, 2012
Denver
I'm new to this hobby, and I'm just buying my tech. Is "Rick Satellite" the only distributor in the US? Are there other, better, or comparable receivers to the aZbox?

Thanks a lot!!! :)

Rick is the only US AZBox dealer, I bought mine off EBAY NIB. Since most FTA receivers are not designed primarily for the US market, there is a lot of room for improvement. There is a new receiver coming that promises to be a well fitted unit for the US market. GeoSat Pro Micro HD. All it lacks is 4:2:2 format. Which is mostly used for sports feeds. So if your not an avid sports fan you might think about waiting a few weeks for this new receiver. It will be less than half the price of the AZBox.

I'm new to this hobby, and I'm just buying my tech. Is "Rick Satellite" the only distributor in the US? Are there other, better, or comparable receivers to the aZbox?

Thanks a lot!!! :)

ColoSat101,

Welcome to the forums!

This link will help you regarding where to buy AZBoxes: Set Top Boxes, Media Center: High Definition | AZBOX From the list, you can see that Rick's is the only official outlet in USA and Dr. Sat is the only official outlet in Canada. I would recommend either with confidence.

As for other makes and models that would serve the purpose for a FTA hobbyist, there are quite a few. Each has their own advantages and disadvantages. You will have to read the specs of all, ask questions, read others evaluations, listen to what others say and report about their boxes and make a personal decision on which box fits your needs the best.

There are Traxis, OpenBoxes S9 and S10, Coolsats, Pansats and several others that might be good choices. There is a new box to be released soon called the microHD from GEOSATpro. Read the thread on that in the normal (general and broadbased) FTA forum section.