Where to start? I read and read, still confuse

Status
Please reply by conversation.

lv6l

Original poster
Dec 4, 2008
Hi, I am new to this FTA ordeal and would like to try it. I been reading some of the threads created by people explaining what this and that is but I am still very lost. My main question is where do I start? What do I have to buy and where do I buy it?

I hate to answer a question with a question, but what sort of programming are you seeking?

If we don't have what you want on Ku band, we can send you to C-band for more.
Look over what's available on Ku, at 123°, 97°, and 101°, for starters. (maybe 125° if you like PBS)

Our Gold Sponsors are good places to get hardware.
They generally offer package deals.

Here are some items to look for:
- blind scan receiver like the Fortec Star Mercury II is a suitable starting place
- 36" dish
- Standard (though Universal is okay) LNB
- some RG-6 coax with connectors, to hook it up
- there are grounding blocks and other small items to be used...
- get a compass and a level to install your mounting pole.
- I'd suggest a chest-height pole, in the back yard, maybe with a few bags of cement under it

Wow, quick reply and already very helpful. But I still have a lot to learn and understand before I attempt this so if you guys don't mind helping me I would greatly appreciate it. But back to the subject. The site you gave me is straight froward and clear. It's a lot easier (on the eyes) to read compare to others I have seen. What I mean is this one seems easier to understand compared to others. But I still don't understand anything just yet. Channels I am aiming for is to replace my current cable provider.

Channels like NBC, ABC, FOX, Discovery, Science, Discovery Health, etc.