Where to start

Status
Please reply by conversation.

SecretSquirrel83

Original poster
Jul 1, 2013
North Garden, Va
Hello all,

I'm a COMPLETE FTA satellite newbie. I live in North Garden Virginia. I guess my ultimate goal is to get rid of my paid Dish Network satellite system.... if I can, while not missing my team's NFL games. I started with a OTA tv antenna, but due to my location, I'm not really able to reliably get all the channels I want. So my questions would be.

1- Is it possible to get the right channels to not miss the NFL games I want to watch?
if yes
2- Can you recommend good write ups/articles for new people like me?

3- What equipment, satellite, receiver, etc, anything that is needed, recommended, or just plain useful. I know there is C band and Ku band. I would like middle of the road, bang for your buck, equipment, etc.

4- What satellite(s) would you recommend that I might enjoy? I like movies, Family guy, Futurama, American Dad type stuff, older shows like MASH, I have ZERO interest in non english, foreign country, or religious channels. I'm going to have an online streaming service of some sort to supplement my tv watching, but NFL is my biggest concern right now.

5- What should I expect, not expect, do's and don'ts, variables I need to consider? Can I use an existing Dish Network mount that is no longer in use? (there are two on the roof since dish was relocated a year or so ago.

Thanks in advance,

John

1) No :-( But you may catch a feed now and then. If you're a NFL junkie, you'll most likely have to pay, as that's the current domestic 'model'. Don't know if that is streamed or not. FTA is more a hobby, not a 'second source' for subscription services.(But for many, there's plenty to 'watch'.